Archive for March 16, 2008

“Survival” Food Kits

I was looking at survival food kits packed into a 5-gallon bucket for a quick bug-out for sale at Sam’s for @ $20.00.  It’s a 30-day supply of food that provides @ 1,600 calories a day. 

I was skeptically wondering about the lack of fresh fruits and veggies and then had to laugh at myself.  When I was a youngster, our diets were almost completely devoid of fresh fruits and veggies.  Oh, sure, we had the garden in the summer, but the veggies were eaten after being cooked for hours with a strip of back fat.  The bread was white.  The beverage was Kool-Aid or unpasteurized milk from either goats or a cow, depending on where we lived and what we could afford to keep.  The cereal was that well-known nutritional powerhouse, Puffed Wheat alternating with Puffed Rice or my personal favorite, Shredded Wheat.  During times of unemployment, the food was beans and cornbread supplemented with squirrels, rabbits, raccoons, or whatever else could be hunted for days to weeks at a time.

Somehow I managed to grow 5 inches taller than my mother on that diet.

Comments (5) »