Walk Off 20 lbs. in 30 Days!

That’s what the headline said in one of the ubiquitous women’s magazines at the grocery store checkout counter.  Must resist….feel willpower weakening….maybe I’ve actually been walking wrong all these years……yes, I broke down and bought it.

To save any of y’all the trouble of buying the magazine to find the magical secret to losing weight, it seems that it is to walk 50 minutes per day every day.  No slacking!  This can be broken up into shorter intervals as needed per your schedule.

Now, being a nice southern lady, I can’t come right out and say “bullshit!”, but I have to say that I walk a minimum of 15 minutes in the morning and 15 minutes in the evening just to put feed out to the livestock and trust me, I walk at least an additional 30 minutes per day besides that, and I don’t exactly look like I’ve missed any meals.  Since I know that a good rule of thumb is that @ 100 calories are burned per mile of walking for a 180 lb. person (and it’s an easy figure to use for the math challenged such as myself), I’ll just go with 100 calories per mile.  Since I have to burn up 3,500 calories to lose 1 lb., and if I wanted to lose 20 lb. in a month strictly from walking, that would be 20 lbs. x 3,500 calories = 70,000 calories to be burned that month.  At 100 calories per mile, seems to me to work out to 700 miles.   Okay, then.  All I have to do to lose 20 lbs. in a month walking (counting 30 days in a month) is to walk 23.33 miles per day.  Every day.  At a 3-minute mile, that would work out to be @ 8 hours. 

Even if I walked back and forth to work every day, leaving at 4 a.m. to get there on time and dodging the logging and dump trucks, I’d still have a mileage deficit of 3 and 1/3 miles per day to make up. 

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    PETE I said,

    i walk just over 30 miles a day 5 days a week in my new job loading products weighing between 25kg-80kg onto waggons . i have lost 11lbs in a week, as a result im full of cold, feel really run down and have a coldsore. by the end of the week im physically exhausted but the weight loss in unreal, hope it gets easier as time goes by

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Heh. I’ve done concrete work in 100 degree F heat in the summer and lost 10 lbs. in a day. I don’t recommend it!

    (I also had a concrete salesman offer to buy me lunch in the summer before when I was working on the job. Before lunch arrived, I had downed 5 giant glasses of sweet tea. He just sat there, dumbfounded, staring at me.)

  3. 3

    nuke said,

    mmmmm sweet tea!

  4. 4

    nicki said,

    how much do i need to walk per day to lose 10lbs?

  5. 5

    panda said,

    actually i’m pretty sure that if you walked for 8 hours a day you would only need to do a 20 minute mile (60 min / 20 min = 3 miles per hour * 8 hours = 24 miles per day.

    if you did a 3 minute mile you would only need to walk/sprint like hell for 69.9 minutes or an hour and 10 minutes (approximately) : )

  6. 6

    Eldon said,

    If you can do a 3 minute mile , can do a marathon in world record time. That is is for men and women. You would win the gold medal in Olyimpics by almost an hour for men’s race. I believe you mean 3 miles per hour as satated above.Also, you would win the mens 1500 meters by along ways.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

