Must Be Genetic

Daughter called to talk as she was driving home from work today and mentioned that she had “lost” the key to the mailbox. This was so her husband wouldn’t read the advertisements from traffic schools and find out that she had been driving 18 miles per hour over the speed limit (on her way to work) and had a very expensive traffic ticket that she was in the process of paying.

I sympathized, and told her that the only traffic ticket her daddy had found of mine was when I had it hidden in the glove compartment, and he was going through it for some unknown reason.

“Ohmygawd! That’s where my traffic ticket is hidden, too!”

We both have a lead foot, short temper, and a habit of not mentioning things to our spouses if they don’t come right out and say something like “oh, by the way, did you get a $250 speeding ticket today?” Must be genetic.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Robert D said,

    Better hope he doesn’t pay the insurance.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Nah. Her car, her bill.

  3. 3

    Robert D said,

    Mrs. D and I are listed as co-owners on all vehicles. Hence, all insurance is co-owned. (and cheaper) I guess we just don’t get that mine and yours thing in marriage.

    We do have our favorites though. :wink:

  4. 4

    kcduffy said,

    Ditto our stuff, Robert. I DO have a separate account, but we put the household money there so I don’t feel like I have to ask for every dime I spend during the pay period. Makes budgeting easier on both of us, especially when he was in Maryland & I was trying to run a household here.

    The FUNNY thing is, I’m on the property deed, but he’s the only name on the mortgage!

    Last ticket I got was at NAS Pax River – 57 in a 35…that V-8 Tundra really rocks on a pretty Autumn morning! The guy only gave me a warning, so no points/no foul. Whew!

  5. 5

    kcduffy said,

    My mistake, just read the ticket – FORTY seven, not 57.

    Cleaning the bathroom musta clogged my brain…sorry!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

