Archive for October 16, 2010

Huntin’ Meat For the Table

As I was headed into town at dawn earlier this week, I was startled as a camouflaged figure emerged out of the early morning mist beside the road holding a rifle. I recognized her as a woman who lives near me. She’s a long-term unemployed single mom. I figured she was tryin’ to put food on the table, waved, and continued on.

I talked to her briefly this evening. She apologized, thinking that she had scared me with the rifle. Grin. I was startled by the figure suddenly emerging from the fog; the rifle had nothing to do with it. In fact, the rifle explained why a person was coming out of the woods in the early morning. She told me that she’d seen several deer but didn’t have a clear shot.

There are going to be a lot of deer taken outside regular hunting season this year by people that can’t afford the license.

Comments (7) »

I Just Use My Phone to Call People

Guess I’m the only one left in the world who does something as prosaic as make a telephone call with my cell phone. I don’t text. I don’t surf the web. I don’t take pictures. I just talk and even then only to immediate family.

This is pretty cool, though.

Comments (5) »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.