Baby Shower

I was going to go to daughter’s baby shower this afternoon. Her coworkers were throwing it at a BBQ place, and I would have loved to have gone. Former DIL was there, along with darling granddaughter, who informed me that she was anxiously waiting to see me.

I haven’t had BBQ for awhile. Maybe I’ve been feeling a little down and depressed because of the lack of BBQ in my diet. On the other hand, I might be feeling a little down and depressed because I’m broke and have approximately zero chance of finding a better job right now, and it could have absolutely nothing to do with low blood levels of BBQ. (Shrug) I can fix low blood levels of BBQ for under $10, something that even a fairly brokeass person can afford. The broke and unhireable part? Not so much. Better work with something I can fix.

I had been watching the grandsons all day. SwampMan had been feeling under the weather, so we were doing our best to be quiet all morning while SwampMan napped. He ALWAYS seems to be feeling under the weather when the grandsons are here! We watched cartoons. We went to Burger King and their playground. I had awakened this morning with a headache, probably weather related, and hearing SpongeBob’s high pitched inane laughter all day didn’t do a THING for it.

Daddy picked up the boys about 4 p.m., the time the shower started. I still needed to feed the livestock, water livestock, gather eggs, turn off the outside water to the uninsulated PVC lines, drain those lines, feed the dogs, feed the cat…..by the time I finished, it was after 6 p.m. I needed a shower (of the hot soapy kind). And I was STILL @ 45 minutes away from the shower (of the baby kind) that had started at 4!

As you may have guessed, I didn’t go. I figured it was probably over or had wound waaaaaay down by that point.

So, here I am, just me and the computer. I cooked chicken-fried steak with rice, peas, and gravy for SwampMan and me for dinner. SwampMan has headed back to bed. The dishwasher is washing. My ironing is lurking on my ironing board waiting to be ironed, reproducing while my back is turned. How many pairs of khakis do I own anyway? I hate ironing. A person of good character and industrious habits would jump on that wrinkled pile immediately so that it would be done and out of the way and not impinging on my peripheral vision. Sad to say, it appears that my character isn’t good at all!

I suppose I could vacuum the floors, but I don’t want to disturb SwampMan. I am VERY solicitous of SwampMan, particularly when it comes to not disturbing him by doing things that I don’t really want to do anyway.

Okay, fine. I’ll do some of the damn ironing.

I hope daughter’s baby shower was fun.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jen said,

    The baby shower was great!! Its ok you didn’t make it- though you missed a lot of great BBQ. There were lotsa people and gifts! This baby will be very spoiled! I got a couple bouncy chair thingies and diapers and wipeys. Also a diaper genie, clothes and etc. I even had enough of the cupcakes to bring home to the boys… though i hid it this morning so when I get home from work there will be some left for ME!

    Don’t worry… I want you to save up your energy for helping me paint!!! hahahahah!!!

    Also… I will take you out to Potters House for payment of said painting.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Oooooooooh! Will paint for FOOD!

    Seriously, get me some swatches of the colors that you want so that I can start acquiring said paint (or mixing it myself). Plus I have to get borders or wallpaper accents, do you want a painted in dry erase board (on second thought, probably NOT), etc.

    Sheesh, now there’s nothing left for ME to bring to Zoe. Uh, maybe I better get something for the boys instead. Or else they might get a little resentful of the baby.

    Oooooh, by the way, I sat Dylan on my lap and had him watch a C-section on YouTube so that he would understand why he ain’t allowed to jump on Mommy after baby is born. Ya think he’s going to be psychologically damaged for life? I’d hate to only psychologically scar one generation.

  3. 3

    swampie said,

    And I WANT BBQ! Damnit! *sigh* I would make some myself but I don’t want to freeze my uh, fingers off.

  4. 4

    Jen said,

    don’t worry you have scared me enough and I have passed that down to the kiddos. He will be fine! I already told him that Zoe will be cut out of mommys tummy and he seemed cool with that. Thats why every time we go to the Docs he asks if they are going to take the baby out now….

    The kids are fine with weird stuff cause I have already explained to Jake how we test animals for Rabies….heheheee…. and he thinks its cool mommy has to decap animals and send to the lab. Then I explained how they test the brain tissue. So they are used to it. WE don’t sugar coat reality ’round here and they always accept that w/ no problems.

    I already have some paint samples so i will send your way. I am open to any borders or whatever…. as long as its not too sissy like.

    I have chalk board paint that would work better than the dry erase markers… I think… prob be just as messy. If we have time maybe we can do the boys room as well…. cause there is all kinds of unknown substances on the walls and its looking kinda gross….

    • 5

      swampie said,

      More painting? (Happy dance!) Uh, I only do scrubbable paint in little boys’ kids’ rooms, none of that flat crap.

      /Just so you know in advance.

  5. 6

    swampie said,

    Oh, BTW, I went to a garage sale today of some people that are moving back up north, and they have a lovely hot dog cart for sale with all the trays, coolers, etc. The lady’s mother bought it, used it for six months, and then got sick and passed away. The Bad Thing is that it is $2,000 but it is a great deal at that price. Ya think Patrick would like to set one up? The person that it would REALLY be perfect for would be Aimee.

    If I had an extra $2,000 lying about doing nothing, I believe I’d purchase it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

