Archive for August 10, 2011

Your Money Is Being Stolen For Your Own Good?

When I was a kid, my stepdad was an abusive alcoholic. Any money he earned went for him, his (always very nice and new) car, his nice clothes, and his alcohol. The family was there to show off in public (so we better be *very* well behaved) and abused privately. Mom always had to drive the really beater vehicles. I remember one truck that she would have to get out of, open the hood, and whack it with a rock in order for it to go into gear. When Mom had a job (and a working vehicle with which to get back and forth to work), her wages were confiscated by the stepdad. If she were lucky, she got a dime per day to buy a Coke, and was allowed a sandwich and a small, hard, sour apple for lunch. Stepdad got the good food because he was the primary wage earner and beat the hell out of anybody that would contest his right to the food or anything else.

We kids worked odd jobs, picked up bottles, and worked in the fields for money to buy our clothes and school supplies. Meat was hunted or caught on a line. Veggies were from the garden (if we’d been in one place long enough to plant and harvest and can) or foraged greens like lambs quarter. Lots of potatoes and beans in the diet. Clothes came from garage sales, used clothing stores, and mom’s sewing machine.

I remember the day before one Thanksgiving walking to a small neighborhood grocery store with my two smaller brothers with bottles that we’d gathered from beside the road and empty lots along the way so we could trade them in for money for three potatoes. The owner looked at our bottles, gave us the change, and refused payment for the potatoes. It was humiliating for me. We must have been a sight, little kids in raggedy clothes, home cut hair, and covered in bruises, who’d walked for miles gathering bottles to take to the store.

I had worked and worked one year to save up $5.00 to buy a used bicycle, and kept it safe in my dresser drawer. I opened my drawer one day and the $5.00 was gone. I went crying to Mom because that broke my heart. Several months’ worth of work and savings were just gone! My stepdad beat me for causing problems and “losing” my money. He’d stolen it, of course. I wasn’t supposed to complain about it or publicly notice it.

There are a lot of people out there that had money tucked away in supposedly safe places for their retirement needs. When they wake up and look in their safe places, they’re going to find out that it is gone. They’ll find that it has been stolen, not by thieves, but by the government. And they’re going to be punished for complaining about it through tax increases and ever more draconian regulations against commerce.

Government has morphed into something like my stepdad. It is supposed to take care of the American family, but spends to support itself and its bad habits. Illegal aliens, criminals, are being given benefits that the taxpayers pay for and free tuition that legal citizen’s children don’t qualify for. Anybody that stands up and talks about government stealing of their funds is pummeled by the press and Democrat (and RINO) politicians.

Comments (6) »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.