Archive for October 16, 2011

I Don’t WANNA Go to Work Tomorrow!

So I reckon it’s a good thing I have a doctor’s appointment, hunh?

I was doing my normal whiny Sunday night thing to myself about how I don’t wanna go to work, and I wanted to do something that I want to do in the years remaining, etc. I had to reach out (in a manner of speaking) and slap myself a few times to bring myself back to reality.

“Okay, Ms. I don’t want to go to work anymore, how, exactly, do I intend to pay the ‘lectric bill?”

“Hello. I don’t earn enough to pay the electric bill. I buy feed and groceries!”

“Oh. Yeah. Right. How do I intend to do THAT?”

“I was kinda thinking of committing mass murder of the livestock, filling the freezers, and gardening.”

“And if I get sick, then what?”

“I, uh, reckon I’ll die.”

“Because I will have no insurance?”

“Yep. But I don’t feel sick!”

“Most people don’t, until they keel over from a heart attack or stroke.”

“Oh, aren’t WE Miz Morbid today!”

“I see life as it is, not through delusional glasses.”

“And I could maybe make and sell T-shirts.”

“Funny. I don’t look Chinese to me!”

“I’m serious. People liked the shirt I wore this weekend!”

“That would be TWO people that commented on it. Maybe they couldn’t believe somebody actually wore that thing but didn’t want to be too negative.”

Dang. I hate it when I’m right.

Comments (4) »

Potential Treadmill Purchase

I used to run 3 miles per day. Then I had knee issues after an auto accident, and stopped anything exercise related that required actual knees for awhile except for work. Did I mention that at the time I was running a concrete construction company?

Eventually I was able to work up to walking 4 to 6 miles per day but the running part was, alas, gone forever, as was horseback riding. Knees just couldn’t take the abuse. When I was captain of a local fitness walking team (sounds funny, doesn’t it?) I developed plantar fasciitis and heel spurs. I dunno why. Perhaps walking long distances on hard surfaces with my extremely high arches and not the best in supportive shoes was not the best idea in the world.

I’ve lived with the plantar fasciitis/heel spur problem now for five looong years. It aaaaaaalmost goes away, just enough to taunt me, then I get an acute flare and hobble about. If I remembered to do my stretching when it was ebbing, I’d probably be in much better shape (grin). In the meantime, my fitness level has gone way, WAY down. I’m winded running after my charges at school or chasing down the grandkids.

Daughter called asking me if I’d like to buy a treadmill for a *very* good price. Walking on the hard roads and school track have not been good for my feet, but neither has the weight gain I’ve experienced since I stopped. I’m *hoping* that the rubber walking surface will be a whole lot easier on the ol’ musculoskeletal system.

Dang, that was a longwinded way of asking “Hey! Anybody out there with a treadmill that has plantar fasciitis/heel spurs? Do you use it, or is it too hard on your feet?”

Comments (3) »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.