Maybe Instead of Pecan Brittle, I’ll Make Squirrel Brittle

This year, we didn’t have any unexpected storms to blow the flowers right off the pecan tree, or high winds to blow the pecans and leaves off during the summer, or indeed, anything that would keep me from harvesting hundreds of pounds of pecans to use to make lots of pecan brittle, pies, honey roasted pecans, pecan chicken, pecan cheesecake…well, you get the picture. I need lots of pecans, my freezer is empty, and by gawd, this was the year I could pick up pecans and shell ‘em until I turned blue.

Unfortunately, the squirrels beat me to them. The tree rats would be up in the tree harvesting them in the daytime. The only nuts that were mine were the ones that fell off the tree at night. Unfortunately, since I leave for work before dawn, the squirrels got those off the ground in the daytime, too. All I have is a large mixing bowl filled with what I have been able to scavenge from the fallen leaves underneath my pecan trees.

*sigh* Squrrel pralines, anyone?

Yes, I know this is my fault for rescuing the nest of 4 baby squirrels and not letting the cats or dogs eat them. Who* knew they were going to eat ALL my pecans? They were so tiny and cute!

*Okay, maybe I knew but rescued them anyway because I wasn’t thinking about pecan pies in the summer.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Robert D said,

    …..i’d better not say it….

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Fried squirrel!

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    ick

    Pecans are Duffy’s favorite. I like ‘em better than squirrel…which isn’t saying much…

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    Squirrels are actually very tasty. I am happy to encourage them for the emergency food supply.

  5. 5

    kcduffy said,

    In an emergency, to keep from starving, yes. The only time I’ve had squirrel was when it was that & a loaf of bread someone else pinched. I managed. But not by choice. There’s pigeons, armadillos, coons, and a few possum around, too. But not by choice. None are kosher, but I might find a duck close, mightn’t I? Don’t like duck, either. Not by choice.

    Pecan bread I will eat by choice.

    With butter.

  6. 6

    swampie said,

    Heh. I’ve eaten all of the above except possum (the one thing that we never poor enough to eat). I wouldn’t be averse to rat, though.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

