Those Darn Flying Bears

The youngest grandson, a very intrepid sort, wants to sleep with his toy shotgun by his side in the same room that I am sleeping in, as does his older, less intrepid brother. When I asked why, it was because they heard beaws outside in the dark. I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what horrible bear noises that they heard in the night, but it could very well be this bear noise:

One of “our” barred owls was watching me intently from the top of the swing as I was feeding the chickens, then swooped down on the ground to investigate the scratch feed, only to be run off by a rooster. I’m not sure whether the rooster was running off a predator, or whether he was saying to himself “I dunno what it is, but I think it wants me…. Come to DADDY!” I got some pictures of the owl and, if I can locate the software for the digital camera and install it on the new computer, I’ll post pictures.

Leave a Reply

