Ahhhhhh! Summer Has Begun!

The teachers gathered at the bus circle last week, on the last day of school for the kids, to cheer as the loaded buses left and to squirt the buses (and willing kids) with water pistols and water cannons. One little boy was begging his teacher “Come on, squirt ME, squirt ME!” She obliged, and his reaction was “Aaaaaah. Summer has begun!”

Yesterday, SwampMan told me to get ready, we were LEAVING. Woohoooo! Road trip! Not sure where we were going, I dressed formally, donning a clean T-shirt and long jeans instead of the shorts I had been wearing and the shirt decorated with Puppy’s giant footprints because I had been inside asleep ALL NIGHT and he was ECSTATIC to see me come outside in the morning. I actually go outside every single morning and feed him, but you never know. Something could abscond with me in the night, and then who would feed SwampMan’s Puppy? Apparently Puppy doesn’t count on SwampMan remembering, probably because SwampMan has never done it.

And off we went! First stop, lunch. “Where do you want to go? Pick any place you want!” SwampMan told me. Uh oh. I HATE it when that happens.

“Well, I’d really like to go to Moon River Pizza in Fernandina!” I replied.

“I wasn’t planning on going THAT far! Besides, I had pizza yesterday and don’t want more anytime soon” SwampMan told me. “Pick another place!”

“So, uh, how far were you planning on going? I need some geographic limitations here!”

“No further than Yulee.”

Hunh. Some road trip. “Okay, then, let’s see what’s in the Yulee area…..there’s Chik-fil-A….”

“I don’t really feel like chicken and besides, I had more of a restaurant in mind.”

“Okay. There’s Chile’s…..”

“Not in the mood.”

“Why don’t you just tell me where you want to go?”

“No, I want YOU to choose. I’m doing this for YOU!”

Sigh. Right. “Okay, there’s Whataburger and Peppers, but Whataburger is a fast food place…”

“I was kinda thinking of either Whataburger or Peppers, but I want you to choose.”

So I “chose” Peppers. It wasn’t a hardship because it really has excellent food.

After lunch, we meandered around, stopping in at Walmart to buy Puppy a new toy and food for him, Odie, and the cats. SwampMan bought a new fancy monitor for the dead computer that he’s going to fix. I will place it back with the carcasses of the other computers that SwampMan is going to rebuild when he has time. Heh.

Then off to Huguenot Park via Fernandina (grrrrrrrrr). That place was crowded with everybody looking like they were having a great time, barbecuing, fishing, picnicing, and being seen in their skimpy swimsuits. Sometimes displaying waaaay too much in their skimpy swimsuits. We drove the beach for awhile, then headed back in the late afternoon.

SwampMan asked “You want something to drink?”

“Yeah.”

“Okay, where do you want to go?”

Uh oh. “How about to Sonic to get a Limeade Chiller?”

“Which one?”

“The one in Yulee.”

“Nope, we’re not going that way.”

“Uh, the only location that I know of is in Yulee.”

“There’s one on Normandy.”

“That isn’t on the way home!”

“Sure it is! We’ll get there eventually!”

Riding around with SwampMan, drinking a refreshing Limeade Chiller after a day at the beach, I had to sit back, put my feet up on the dash, and say to myself “Aaaaaaaah! Summer has begun!”

Leave a Reply

