Heat Index 110 to 112 Degrees Today, Be Careful!

A heat record that was set in the 1800s may go down today (of course, population, concrete, and asphalt was a lot lower then). Regardless, it’s gonna be damn hot today and people that work outside (like people that have to put fences up!) need to be careful, stay hydrated, and take frequent shade breaks.

This week is not a good week to be in the roofing business.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Great weather…guess this means exercise for the Pixie will consist of dancing and running in circles in the house…

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    This means no fence posts put in today, either. I was headed outside after SwampMan’s appointment, and he told me that I was going to stay inside until 6 p.m. because he didn’t want to be calling 911.

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    You married a smart man, Swampie! I don’t want him to have to call 911, either! Best friend’s birthday tonight, celebrating with cake at the meeting. As usual, it’s a really good time…and useful, too!

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    It just turned 6 p.m. and I get to go outside again! Woohoooo!

    Unfortunately, instead of getting anything productive done, I’m going to be caring for livestock.

    Have a good time at the party and eat cake for me!

  5. 5

    kcduffy said,

    Had one slice of banana bread, one piece of spice cake with cream cheese icing – both homemade, both yummy!

    I bet your LIVESTOCK thinks what you do is productive. Well, to the extent they can think that way, I mean. Taking care of them is part of the bargain you make when you bring ’em home, isn’t it?

  6. 6

    swampie said,

    *sigh* Yep. I was outside last night looking over the livestock, thinking about selling them all off to auction, but it took me so dang long to develop a flock of sheep that doesn’t need worming here in the parasite capital of the world! Then, of course, my old head ram was nudging me on the right to get his head scratched, and my younger emergency backup ram on my left, with a younger pretender to the throne immediately behind me. It would not be hard to sell them if they were registered but, over the years, there’s been an influx of Rambouillet and Texel blood.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

