Ready For the Weekend!

I’m READY for the weekend. I’ve been kicked, pinched, bitten, and punched in the nose (and that was just today). I have a huge bruise/painful muscle swelling on my right forearm that I *think* came from being whacked with a chair. I was threatened with being stabbed through the eye with a pen. Just another day at work.

Yeah, the kids were definitely feelin’ the weekend calling.

After the new insurance premiums, I’ll be earning @ $200 a month less than last year. I have a feeling that I’m gonna need that insurance!

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    You really ought to get combat pay. I know career Navy guys who don’t see as much action as you do!

    I’m ready for the weekend, too. Duffy’s on call, so not going anywhere…which is ok by me. I’ve had a headache for 2 weeks, I think, and feel particularly punky today. S’posed to have 3 generation portrait taken tomorrow, can’t decide if I should get my hair cut first…

    Bought frozen pizza yesterday, and a watermelon, so plan on nearly zero cooking, for today, anyway.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    I’m lying around on the sofa watching old movies DESPITE lots of work that needs to be done outside. Those old 1940s-era movies were so much better than most of the stupid dreck available now. I’m trying to remember the last time I saw a movie at the theater that was worth the price of the ticket.

    Vegetating time needs to stop. I need to Mow the Grass From Hell. I need to clean the kitchen from hell……and I will……right after this movie…..

    Note to Self: When grocery shopping, look for willpower in the vitamin aisle.

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    Oh, I have LOTS of willpower. It’s the WON’T power that gets me, every damn time!

    I’d love to read a book but don’t have the energy…an audio book would be great…but I don’t have any I’m interested in hearing… Picky ol broad, ain’t I?

  4. 4

    Paco said,

    Swampiie, er, just exactly what do you do for a living?

  5. 5

    swampie said,

    I work in special education with, er, behaviorally-challenged, violent children who, when frustrated by the schoolwork or their classmates, respond by chucking computers, chairs, and desks across the room, and/or strangling their classmates and teachers, or banging their own heads against solid surfaces and tearing at their own skin until it is bloody shreds. Poor impulse control and low IQ. Think of how a toddler can pitch a fit and then imagine that toddler with the toddler mind and desire to strike out when frustrated in a maturing body with hormonal surges.

    I don’t think many other people’s workday conversations have little conversational tidbits such as “no, it is not nice to cut me with scissors”, or “no, you may not stab me with a pencil”, and “it is not nice to strangle your friends”. We have students in puberty that are working somewhat below kindergarten level.

    It is only the beginning of the school year, and we have new students who do not know how to behave in our class. One of them came in and immediately pissed off the students from last year by doing things like kicking them in the ‘nads.

    Four of our students cannot speak, which means we have to watch them like HAWKS to make sure that they’re not being victimized by the more violent students. For example, one nonverbal child was viciously kicked in the back by another child because he didn’t think we were watching.

    • 6

      kcduffy said,

      Probably unkind of me to say these children don’t need school or schoolteachers. They will never be mainstreamed into society, and allowing them – and their families – to abuse you and your compatriots and the other children is the height of stupidity.

      • 7

        swampie said,

        Well, some children have been brutalized as infants and toddlers and denied adequate nutrition from parents that themselves had mental illness and drug/alcohol addiction. We are working hard to try to stimulate alternative pathways in the brain, but that’s a hard, hard deficit to overcome. Some of the children have genetic conditions that limit what they can achieve. Some children have brain damage.

        Most of the children have made amazing progress from where they were.

      • 8

        kcduffy said,

        I don’t doubt that at all, Swampie. My grandmother was a pioneer in training and teaching the children others had written off. And I know the advances that can be made with the right teachers. As I said, it sounded unkind, and I do NOT mean it that way. The way I DO see it is that, we ought not let our pity and sorrow at HOW they got that way distract us from WHAT they are, if they are a danger to themselves and those around them. One of the silly rules you have to follow about proper dress just chaps my butt. You do good work, I know the desperate need for it – but being able to dress for the safety and protection of yourself and others seems FAR more important than dressing to fit some bureaucrat’s idea of business attire – this ain’t business in the normal sense of the word. YOUR protection from biting, for instance, would seem more important to me than the material your shirt is made of.

        And you should get the Educational version of Combat Pay. Any one of us can teach a child to read – what YOU do takes skill AND guts.

  6. 9

    swampie said,

    Got back from the library with some new reading material for the weekend: “Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain”, a book on neuroplasticity, a Mercedes Lackey tale, “What Would Kinky Do?”, Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s “Nomad”, “Best of Instructables”, and a bunch of auto body repair and painting textbooks.

  7. 10

    Paco said,

    God bless you, I know that’s a tough job. I confess, when I first read your post, I thought maybe you worked as a prison guard.

  8. 12

    no2liberals said,

    What I want to know is more info on the new pup, please.

  9. 13

    SwampWoman said,

    Which new pup? The “chickenwawa” that belongs to the grandkids? The chicken killer pitbull/chocolate lab pup that belongs to the son (that he needs somebody to care for when he goes outta state to work), or my German Shepherd “puppy” that weighs about 100 lbs.?

    • 14

      no2liberals said,

      Oh.
      I just saw you say something about a new pup that was knocking over garbage cans. Didn’t realize there was a plethora of pooches.

      Just watch out for those young hellions at work. Haven’t had to the swivel head myself in many years.

      • 15

        swampie said,

        That garbage can knocker over would be (German Shepherd) Puppy, aka Sam. When he thinks it is time for me to fill the dog food bowl (with canned food), he knocks over the garbage can and follows me around with an empty dog food can so I get with the program. If I don’t immediately get with the program, he’ll drop that one and go get another one, ad infinitum, until the garbage can is empty of cans and they are strewn all over the yard, or until I can put down whatever I’m doing and feed him a can of dog food.

        Of course, he has dry dog food in his bowl.

        As for the swivel head, I’ve awakened several times during the night over this long weekened worrying about when (not if) one of our larger violent students succeeds in brutalizing one of the smaller, weaker non-violent students that cannot vocalize or scream if they are being harmed. It can happen so suddenly. I’m not worried about me.

  10. 16

    SwampWoman said,

    Or the new incubating grandchild that looks, according to the last ultrasound, like a boy? (Sumpin’s dangling.)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

