Snake Release

A juvenile city corn snake was released into a more snake-friendly area yesterday. We wish him well. Prior to release, I pointed out to the boys how his orange splotches and tan background, while flashy against green grass, would turn him invisible in the dead grass and leaves of an overgrown forested area. We briefly admired his checkboard pattern underside, then I decided to get the camera. Here’s Corn Snake and admirers of his (or her) beauty. As usual, click to enlarge photo. Corn snake chose the moment of snapping the picture to move, of course, so he’s a little blurry.

corn snake

Mommy is, of course, overseeing the juvenile snake’s safety.

Freedom! Wooohooooo!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    You have the cutest grandkids, thanks so much for the pictures!

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures of very lovely granddaughter with her white blonde hair and deep blue eyes when we spent last weekend on a girls’ day out with me and her great grandmother, mom.

    That would be son’s daughter. Son had white blonde curls when he was little but dark brown, almost black eyes. Dunno how that happened!

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    Recessive genes. My father had black hair that had turned to dark dark brown after he spent some time in the Aleutians, and dark brown eyes. My mother has green eyes, stick-straight blonde hair. All three of us were towheads as children, but Sister is the only one still ‘blonde.’ Brother ended dark blond with Dad’s brown eyes, my sister got Mom’s hair and eyes. I got the blond as a child, but it changed to dishwater with a red tint when I got older. Glenn and I both have curly hair, but I didn’t know mine was curly till I moved to Florida when I was 29. My eyes are DARK green, what I refer to usually as hazel green. My ol man is dark curly headed with brown eyes. Our daughter is wavy dark haired with blue hazel eyes. HER hubby is straight blond and blue, and Kaylee is straight blond and blue. You just NEVER can tell.

    We all have nice lookin’ young’uns, that’s for sure!

  4. 4

    Princess Bernie said,

    I’ve had two snakes in my building at work in the past month. That’s two too many. Gubmint office – my hubby says it’s because the dems are in office…

    heh.

  5. 5

    swampie said,

    Heh. Yeah, snakes congregate where there are lots of rodents, for sure.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

