Movies to Iron By

If you have to iron (and I do, on account of I’ve been told I’m a professional and have to dress like one, which generally includes stints with spray starch and an ironing board ‘cuz my “professional” job doesn’t pay enough to let the cleaners do it), there are a few movies that help to pass the time. There are a few CDs, too, but jumpin’ around bustin’ the moves with a hot steam iron can be pretty dangerous. And the scars are ugly. So, I stick to the movies.

Unfortunately, SwampMan’s idea of a good movie and MY idea of a good movie do not coincide. SwampMan loves the Godfather movies. I hate ’em. I like old musicals. SwampMan would rather watch something with a lot of killin’. My tastes run more toward Bubba Ho-tep. Life of Brian. Love at First Bite. Zorro, the Gay Blade. Lord of the Rings.

So, tonight I have a bunch of professionalish clothes in a pile on the ironing board, and Bubba Ho-tep in the DVD player. I’m more of a professional wrestler than anything else. Do you think I can go to work in a cape and tights? *sigh* Me neither. Well, hell. One of the lil’ darlins tore one of my Hawaiian shirts (my version of professional wear) last week. Both seams. I gotta sew that thang up. Right after I purchase a sewing machine. A really cheap one. Which I can’t afford, either.

We, uh, don’t agree on television shows, either, just in case you were wondering. I want to watch the livestock auctions. He wants to watch stuff on the third Reich. Kinda hard to find programs that include Nazis and current livestock prices.

Now that I think of it, I’m not actually paid enough to be able to afford professional clothes from anything other than a second-hand shop. Which, coincidently, (or not) is where most of mine came from. I still hate it when I get clothing ruined. If I run across a bodysuit, trunks and a cape, I WILL buy those and wear them to work. On my last day.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    Bubba Ho-Tep?
    WTH is that?
    I recommend The Way Of The Gun.
    It has it all.
    The opening scene with Sarah Silverman is great, if you feel the same way about her as I do.

  2. 2

    SwampWoman said,

    Nah, I guess not.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

