Applying for Another Job

I got information about a job opening the way I usually do, by walking up to somebody doing a job that I think I might like to do and asking about it. I have a name and phone number to call as well as a company name. I would be working part time, so I’d have more time for the maintenance around here that is NOT getting done. I would have insurance which has been SwampMan’s big objection about my leaving the school system. I’d need another vehicle because it involves travel, which I might actually be able to afford.

I came home to make the call to the person but started to feel guilty about pregnant daughter and two little grandsons, since I had been planning to take four years’ worth of accumulated leave time to care for them when daughter had the C-section. Uh oh. Mom guilt kicking in.

I called daughter. No answer. Dang.

Daughter called back later, too late for me to call the person about the job. I explained about the job. She said “TAKE IT!” I said something along the lines of “but I probably won’t be able to take care of the kids during the C-section…” “What are you, crazy from being among crazy people for so long? TAKE IT!”

So I’ll call about the job tomorrow after work, if it is still open. Keep your fingers crossed for me. And, uh, keep your fingers crossed that I don’t go setting bridges on fire and/or detonating them at work before I even apply for a job that I may not get, after all!

If I get the job, it will be great. I’ll be a lot happier, have more time to do the things that I like to do, more time for family, and probably drop a lot of weight because my cortisol level will be a LOT lower. I’ll also bring home more cash! If I don’t get the job, it will be great. I can take time off for SwampMan’s knee surgery (if he gets it), and take time off for daughter’s C-section and care for her little sweethearts during the summer months.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    Good luck, Swampie.

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    If I could still cross my toes, I would do so!

  3. 3

    Princess Bernie said,

    I hope you get it! And I want a job like that, too. My cortisol levels are sky high and I can’t lose weight either – damn Stimulus. My job has been a nightmare since it started and it gets worse every day.

  4. 4

    Robert D said,

    Great news Swampie!!! Good luck! :grin:

  5. 5

    vicky said,

    good luck dude…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

