Watched the Florida-Vanderbilt Game At Mayport

I watched most of the Florida-Vanderbilt game at Mayport NAS today at the barber shop. Two little shaggy-headed boys were in crying need of a navy regulation haircut per their Momma, so I rode along. The barber shop was FULL of sailors, both active duty and retired, as well as their progeny. We were number 46.

I ain’t sayin’ that the wait was really, really extra long today but, when we left, the score was 55-7. Call me a cock-eyed optimist, but I was feeling pretty sure at that point that Florida was going to win.

I wished that I had brought a camera to record our little men sitting there so seriously in the barber chairs alongside warriors from the past and present getting their hair cut. The barbers put the same amount of care into the haircuts of a 3 and 6-year-old boy as they would a ship’s captain. All the patrons, small and large, were squared away when they left.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Duffy gets his haircuts at NAS Jax. Always loved barbershops, got my hair cut there fairly often as a child…because that’s where my favorite aunt took me when she got hers done.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

