Awww, Damnit, I GOT The Damn Flu Shot!

We went on a field trip today. A great time, as they say, was had by all, except for me. When I woke up this morning, I had a painful right leg that felt like all the muscles in my calf were in a spasm AND my plantar fasciitis and bone spur in the left foot were acting up. Unfortunately for me, today was a field trip day in the great outdoors. Hours of walking and climbing and some running after wayward children didn’t dampen my perpetual happy attitude toward my young charges, but inwardly I was considering begging for a pair of crutches or an ambulance. The end of the day couldn’t come too soon for me!

When I arrived home, I hobbled around for the 2 and 1/2 hours necessary to do my evening chores with the livestock, then SwampMan asked me what we were having for dinner.

“I don’t think I could stand in front of the stove long enough to cook an egg! You’re doing dinner tonight.” SwampMan elected to pick up BBQ.

By the time dinner was done, my left arm had deeply painful muscles, too. WTH? Did I carry anything unusually heavy with my left arm or, indeed, my entire left side as opposed to my right side this week? Not that I could recall. I retired to my lazy chair with a magazine and quickly fell asleep only to wake a couple hours later sweating, then shivering with cold. Now my muscles are so sore that I can’t find a comfortable position and I’ve got a dry cough.

Oh, HELL, no. I absolutely CANNOT be getting the flu. No, I have pies to bake, damnit! I have casseroles to start! I have a house to clean! Dang. It hurts my fingers to type.

I suppose it was inevitable that I would get something because over the last two weeks, I’ve been covered in a veritable FLOOD of green mucous from very sick snotty-nosed kids. I have been taking vitamins by the pound as talismans against illness. My immune system should be theoretically strong enough (per the vitamin ads) to take on just about any ol’ germ out there, but kid germs are extraordinarily virulent. Or perhaps vitamins are just the modern version of snake oil designed to separate the consumer from their cash.

I wonder if I still have the receipt from my flu shot. You reckon I can take it back to the doctor and demand a refund because it didn’t work?

Heh. One of the (many, many, MANY) things that I have to get done tomorrow is the mammogram that I have successfully put off for many years. I suppose that the silver lining is that I’ll probably be so miserable by tomorrow afternoon that I’ll barely even register the pain of getting the boobs squashed.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    I ain’t had the flu since the last flu shot I got…37 years ago.
    And I ain’t never gonna get another one.
    Hope you don’t have that crap, Swampie.

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    My fingers always hurt, so that’s not one of my symptoms, I guess. My throat’s feelin’ scritchy and assorted other symptoms have arrived but I’m doing my best to ignore ‘em. When I told the ol man yesterday that I wasn’t feeling well, he said “I don’t know what to tell you” and went on about his bidniss. No offer to make tea or nuthin! So, I went on about my bidniss, and today I feel worse, but I’ll be damned if I’m going to whine about it to anyone but the Pixie and the cat. Wouldn’t do any good, and it seems to be a little tough to catch my breath, too.

    I’ve believed for a long time that “snake oil” is exactly what most supplemental vitamins are. Consumer Reports had an article that didn’t make me out to be completely wrong, so I’m stickin’ with my belief. For now.

    Hope you feel better enough to cook and bake without too much misery, Swampie. Don’t do mine till Sunday, so taking Thanksgiving off to REST!

  3. 3

    Croc Hunter said,

    I don’t remember when I had my last flu shot, high school probably. Next one, I’ll be old and senile before they can catch the Croc. again. Maybe?

    Get well soon Swampie!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

