The Mammogram Wasn’t Bad At All!

I went to the Mammography Department at the local hospital today expecting torture. According to my mom, it was the single most painful thing she’d ever experienced in her entire life up to that point, so I was expecting the worst. The only reason that I was there at all was that a coworker shared with me that she had no symptoms, no risk factors, and had a mammogram at a younger age than I am now which revealed bilateral breast cancer. *sigh* Plus, SwampMan insists that I need to be completely checked out before I leave a job with insurance to strike out on my own again ‘cuz I ain’t no spring chicken (per him).

Standing in front of the machine, my body was leaning towards the door to the great amusement of the technician. My head said I gotta do this and get it over with but my body was sayin’ “have you LOST your freakin’ mind?”

Now, either mom’s breasts are waaaaaay more sensitive than mine, or I have experienced pain beyond what she has so I have more perspective. Or it could just be that I’m more pain tolerant, of course.

If you, like me, have been putting off this procedure because of fear of discomfort, take it from me. It ain’t that bad. It doesn’t take long. It *might* save your life.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kae said,

    Squishagram is a euphemism here for them.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Heh. Yeah, that’s a good euphemism! In my case, though, it was more like a pressureagram.

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    Don’t like ’em but don’t hate ’em, either. In order of dislike it goes 1. Pap & pelvic 2. Mammo 3. Colonoscopy.

    I’d have a mammo every month if it meant I didn’t have to do they gyno thing anymore.

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    That’s another thing that I do somewhat sporadically, like every 5 years or so. I figure if they ain’t found anything wrong yet, why go every year? I suppose, in the spirit of making sure that everything is in good order, I better go while I still have insurance because if I wait until I ain’t got none and something goes wrong, I won’t be able to get any.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

