Happy Thanksgiving!

So what’s your favorite Thanksgiving meal? My favorite turkey for the holidays is smoked. We used to have my brother-in-law’s smoked turkey every Thanksgiving but, unfortunately, he’s moved up to north Georgia, so no more smoked turkey for me, damnit! My second favorite turkey is deep fried turkey (mmmmmmmm! Fried turkey!) but tea-brined turkey is really, really wonderful. *sniffle*

Why the sad face? Because my husband and children *do not like* turkey. My stepdad *hates* turkey. Mom and I snuck out to Cracker Barrel on her birthday to get a turkey dinner but it just ain’t the same. Mom and I have sadly agreed that cooking a 12-lb. turkey is probably not a good idea if we’re the only ones that are gonna eat it!

Sooooooo, I’m off to feed the livestock and then we’ll head up to mom’s house in Georgia. Son is working 7/12s and will be at girlfriend’s house afterwards. Daughter and son-in-law are in south Florida at his parents’ house.

I may just go ahead and get a turkey tomorrow, tea brine that sucker, and cook it anyway. So there. SwampMan is free, of course, to eat at Burger King instead.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Swampie, I am partial to turkey, and I like my old-fashioned roasted bird the best. I don’t brine it. I don’t stuff it full of dressing – it gets some nice aromatic onion, celery, orange, apple and pepper. My family adores it. And it provides the stuff for one 2 die 4 pan gravy.

    If, however, I was the only one who liked it, I would fix a smaller one anyway. Turkey freezes nicely, and turkey/miracle whip/pepper on white bread is something I look forward to EVERY time I roast a turkey.

    I made duck for Duffy one year. He liked it but not enough to ask me to repeat it. The Other Grandma makes prime rib most years. Mmmm…one time I got some leftovers, but she has 21 people to cook for this year, so probably won’t see any. Lucky kids – prime rib today, turkey on Sunday. Spoiled lil brats, aren’t they?

  2. 2

    no2liberals said,

    I like turkey, but only for the holidays.
    Don’t think I ever met anyone before who didn’t like turkey.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. 3

    Croc Hunter said,

    Growing up my family always had oven baked turkey with stuffing and all the goodies that went with a feast!!! We could eat for a week with leftovers. Yum, Yum.

    Times change and today we go out to a restaurant to eat with friends for the early meal and when another friend gets off of work we enjoy a evening meal.

    Happy Thanksgiving to all!!!!!

    • 4

      kcduffy said,

      We went to a Southern country cookin’ place for the all-you-can-eat buffet. Yum. Then went to help the ol man put some buses where they were needed. A nice rest to read the Door Buster newspaper adverts, now I think I’ll make a banana bread…which I have been TRYING to get done for at least 2 weeks now!

  4. 5

    ORPO1 said,

    And wishes for a splendid day to you, Swampie! From out here in the High Desert.
    Basic meal requirements are Turkey, Stuffing, Mashed Potatoes, Cranberries both whole and jellied, Pickles, Olives, Sweet Rolls and PUNKIN PIE WITH LOTS OF WHIPPED CREAM.
    Ours will be in Palmdale with Sharon’s sister and our brother in law. First one with no kids and or grand kids. Changes that come with our age, as it were. But thankful as I passed my probationary period at Edwards a couple weeks ago. Got this job till I retire.

    • 6

      swampie said,

      Woohoooooo! Now THAT’s worth a HUGE celebration right there!

      • 7

        kcduffy said,

        Swampie, Duffy sez you’re welcome to come have some turkey with us if you want. I usually put out munchies – fresh pineapple & watermelon, pepperoni & summer sausage, 3 kinds of cheese, grape tomatoes, olives, sometimes pickles – then everyone leaves me alone while I fix The Meal. I make my own cranberries (will do that tonight), don’t usually buy the jellied cuz no one eats it but me, and the rolls are Hawaiian sweet rolls. Smashed potatoes (meaning they tend to be lumpy, which is ok by me). I make the dressing the way my dad liked it, but not much cuz I’m the only one who eats it, and it goes in a dish, not the bird. Canned French style green beans because that’s what Kait always preferred. Sparkling white grape juice. Pumpkin pie & Cool Whip because I am lazy. Fresh-perked coffee.

        Remember that segment on Hee Haw, where Grandpa told ‘What’s for supper?” YUM YUM!!!

  5. 8

    swampie said,

    That DOES sound yummy! Mmmmmmm MMMMMMMM. However, I am currently running around doing fetchin’ and steppin’ for SwampMan as he fixes his truck, and I’m not sure how long it will take (maybe days). Yikes. (I was able to get away for a moment for a sweet tea break.)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

