Happy New Years!

Yesterday we cleared a fence line, put in some fence posts, watched a couple hours of a House marathon, and went to sleep. Yup, we just livin’ la vida loca here. The battery in my ol’ vehicle decided to go to battery heaven during the prolonged cold snap once I quit making multiple trips to stores of the grocery and department variety. SwampMan’s manifold gasket is leaking radiator fluid into his oil, so he’s going to be changing that out today. We seem to have neither the time nor the cash for “fun” stuff, but we count ourselves among the blessed because somehow we always seem to be able to scrape by. In comparison to many folks here, we’re rich because we have a roof over our heads, food in the freezer, and electricity, something that a lot of folks on unemployment and food stamps here would have taken for granted just a couple years ago.

So, this morning I will toast all y’all with sparkling grape juice and wish y’all a Happy New Year, with the hopes that you have plenty of fun, your health, food, shelter, and a way to more than cover your expenses in the new year.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Good morning and happy 20011 to you and the SwampMan and all the SwampKids and SwampCritters and other assorted SwampFamily.

    We ain’t got much but we’ve got what we need plus just a little more. I have wonderful people in my life who keep this daily life from being the drugery I can make it if I let me.

    For all these blessings, I am truly grateful, and ready to take on the next year!

    WOLVERINES!

    • 2

      Croc hunter said,

      Yeah I know I’m slow but HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!!!!

      Don’t give up hope for the Wolves, they will be back with the rest of the Big Ten.

      Hawkeyes!

      My main goal is to slim down about 40lbs or so to around my high school weight.

  2. 3

    swampie said,

    I left some of my resolutions at Nuke’s place. I’m still working on them, though.

    • 4

      kcduffy said,

      I haven’t had a drink of alcohol in over 13 years. I quit smoking almost 13 years ago. I don’t gamble, or run around, or drive too fast, or shop, and I didn’t get fat yet. My friends think I’m a forgetful little goof but hang out with me anyway. My husband thinks I’m an annoying but handy housekeeper, but I can cook pretty good so he sticks around. My kids like that I can usually spare some cash when they need gas or smokes and I don’t criticize them every time I see them. I spend a little time with My Maker every day. I don’t see any of these things changing any time soon, so no resolutions for me.

      • 5

        swampie said,

        Well, I’m stuffed just FULL of bad qualities, so I need to work on ’em from time to time.

      • 6

        kcduffy said,

        Oh, I have tons of bad qualities! I’m sarcastic, and lazy, and badly out of shape. I say the stupidest things, and don’t track conversations well a lot of the time. I’d rather channel surf than clean the kitchen. I have clean unfolded laundry “hidden” in the green bedroom (the house is too small to truly HIDE anything). My yard is a complete disaster – you’d never know it used to be pretty and shabby but tidy, and homey-looking. The carport is…well, let’s just say I’m not going to even LOOK when I start throwing things to the curb. My ONLY saving grace is that no one has seen fit to tell me this year how MUCH improvement they need me to make in my own self. I used to get a yearly lecture on what needed to improve, at New Years. I still hate New Years. I can hardly wait for tomorrow.

      • 7

        swampie said,

        Heh. Oh, let’s not even go into clutter! I prefer to think of it as “spare stuff that I may need someday”. But that spare stuff is multiplying and taking over all the living spaces, so I badly need to have a day where I put on a blindfold and pitch everything and start all over again.

  3. 8

    Robert D said,

    A nice 1″ dusting of snow this morning made the last night of the Christmas lights look even better. Happy New Year!

  4. 9

    swampie said,

    Happy New Year right back atcha! I bet the snow is really gorgeous. If I had a new battery, I woulda gone to the beach at sunrise and taken some pics.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

