Archive for January 12, 2011

Financial Sequelae of Prolonged Cold Snap

My former DIL called me to tell me how shocked she was over her power bill (it was over $400). It has been so much colder than normal, and she has small children recently sick with the flu, so the heat is on 24/7. An air to air heat pump just doesn’t work that efficiently when the weather turns so cold! She thought she had it bad but her sister’s power bill is $600. They aren’t sure how the bills will get paid due to employment issues.

I don’t think ours will be that high…at least, I hope not! We’ve only been turning on the heat when we arrive home and then turn off the heat when it is time to go to bed, something that parents with little ones can’t do.

Are y’all’s power bills under control?

Comments (5) »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.