Zoe Elizabeth is Here!

Son-in-law called. Mommy and baby are doing well, and Zoe weighs 8 lbs. exactly. I called SwampMan to inform him, and after ascertaining that Mommy and baby were doing well, he asked what color her hair was. Ooops. I was so excited about the baby and mommy doing well that I forgot to ask which is totally unlike me. *Thinking about this unconscionable dereliction of duty–could it be that in the great scheme of things, hair color is of no significance whatsoever? Or could it be that between lack of sleep, fulfilling multiple breakfast requests and singing the SpongeBob Squarepants song loudly and dancing around the kitchen, my brain has been affected? Or was my brain already affected, hence the singing the SpongeBob Squarepants song and dancing around the kitchen in my pajamas?* I shrugged it off. Son in law never thought to mention it, either. Maybe the baby doesn’t have any hair.

I called my mom to give her the good news! She mentioned that little Zoe wasn’t so little, and asked if she had thick black hair like the boys did. *sigh* I really need to get the details for when I’m talking to my family.

Then the former daughter in law called for an update. “So, does she have black hair?”

D’OH!

Okay, dark hair, tan skin, looks just like her brothers, only tinier, of course. Broad shoulders. Mommy said sadly that none of the frilly cute newborn clothes she has are going to fit. Mommy has spent the morning and afternoon so far puking. Not a way I’d want to spend my time after a c-section!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Those of us in your cyberworld await the answer to this all-important question, Grandma SwampWoman! Hop to it!

    And congratulations to ALL of you. Kaylee was a puny little JUST 6lbs, had to put her in preemie clothes for the first month. Now, she’s tall as some of the 5yo at her school. Still tiny, but tall.

    Looking forward to first pictures, Grandma!

  2. 2

    Steve said,

    Congrats to you all!

  3. 4

    no2liberals said,

    Congrats, Swampie.
    Hair color? phfffft…it’s all gonna fall out anyway.
    What I want to know is what color her eyes are?
    *tap**tap**tap* I’ll wait while you call SIL.

  4. 5

    swampie said,

    Her eyes will be brown like her brothers. And her hair will be dark like her brothers.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

