More Baggy Eyes Coming Up

Earlier this week, I checked a ewe throughout the night that I suspected was about to lamb. I checked her every three hours throughout the night, then checked her as soon as I got up in the morning and again before I left. No lamb. When I got home from work, I immediately went to the barn to find a cold, stiff lamb and a ewe calling and calling to it.

It was a fine lamb–a huge single that felt like it weighed 20 lbs. It was easily the size of the two-week-old lambs. She’d probably been exhausted and was slow getting up to clean the lamb who was cleaned and dried everywhere except over his nose, where the placenta was covering the mouth and nostrils. Dang, dang, dang. THIS ain’t payin’ the feed bills!

Last night, a young ewe didn’t want to come out of the pasture and when she did, she started calling all the lambs racing up and down the pasture alley to the barn. Hmmmmmm. She was carrying her tail funny, slightly elevated. Hmmmmmm. She didn’t want any dinner. Unh huh. Somebody’s in the early stages of labor. I checked her again at 10:30, again at 12:30, again at 2:30, and again at 6 a.m. Nothin’. I checked again when it was time to leave. No ewe.

I found her and her new lamb in a pasture that had head-high dry grass that pretty much exactly matched the shade of her wool. Momma sheep was attentive and loving, the little one was vigorous and trying to find where the milk was, so I left feeling all happy about this outcome.

The ewes all came up to eat tonight, so I was looking forward to a night’s uninterrupted sleep. Then I went out for my 10:00 p.m. sheep check and found a young Rambouillet ewe (who will be a first time mother) following the new lamb around and calling to it. CRAP! She’s VERY skittish. On the good side, tomorrow’s Saturday.

I need to buy some new eye makeup. Something that I can use to draw eyeballs on my eyelids so that it looks like I’m awake would be good.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Not exactly what you were thinking of, but I’ve run out of time! Amazon has just about everything, doesn’t it…

    http://www.amazon.com/Fun-Express-Hanging-Rainbow-Goo-Goo/dp/B002C3Y6V2

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Now if only they’re bloodshot, they’ll look just like me!

  3. 3

    Croc Hunter said,

    I feel your pain swampie, when I was a young boy there was a lot of nights sleeping in the barns with the sows as they were birthing to make sure things went smooth.
    All I’ll say is hind sight is 20/20.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

