My Deepest Sympathies to Japan

Yesterday morning was much the same as all other mornings. The alarm went off, I slept through it for about 15 minutes then groggily and grumpily attained some semblance of sentience and abused the alarm for doing the job that I had set it to do which was dragging my less than happy butt outta bed.

I switched on the television to check the weather for our field trip while running around looking for the clothes, shoes, keys, etc. that I put in plain sight the evening before but am somehow unable to see in the morning. The phrase “8.9 on the Richter scale” penetrated the fog. Holy SHIT. That would be freakin’ devastating no matter WHERE it happened.

I returned to the television set and heard that there were 32 dead reported in Japan. Oh, no. I knew the death and injury toll was going to be much, much higher.

When I got home, I watched some of the news reports that I had missed during the day. I feel for the people trapped in the cities whose families may have perished. I watched in helpless anguish as boats, vehicles, houses, and debris were swept far inland into farmers’ fields.

We have the potential–no, the certainty–for the same damage when the Cascadia subduction zone rips loose. Are our western states as prepared with stringent earthquake building codes as Japan? Would coastal survivors of a potential 9.0 earthquake have the presence of mind to immediately head for (much) higher ground to escape the 80 to 100 foot tidal wave that big earthquakes along this zone generate? Would they be able to do this to save their own lives leaving behind family members, friends, and neighbors trapped in debris who would surely perish?

Japan, who has extensive experience with tsunamis, looks to have lost a staggering amount of people to the waves, not the huge earthquake(s).

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    It’s bad and getting worse by the moment.
    As for future quakes and their effects, no one is immune. The plates shift and you just have to hang on. I’ve been through two biguns when I lived in the Philippines, and they aren’t not fun.
    As for worrying about folks on the left coast, those on the right aren’t immune.

    Fact Check: Eastern U.S. earthquake risk.

    Bottom Line: Much of the eastern U.S. is at risk, not only for smaller quakes but major ones as well. History books tell us they’ve happened before, and seismologists assure us more will come. In fact, USGS statistics indicate that many areas in the East are overdue for a significant seismic event.

    That ought to cheer you right up.

  2. 3

    swampie said,

    Heh. Thanks!

    • 4

      no2liberals said,

      Glad to be of assistance.
      Still, I’m more concerned about the red import pickemup trucks in my mirror, driven by hormone fueled yout’s talking on cellphones.
      /and yes, I said yout’s

  3. 5

    swampie said,

    Oooh, I love me a big red pickemup truck.

    • 6

      no2liberals said,

      They ain’t the problem, it’s the little’uns that the hormone overdosed drive that I worry about.

  4. 7

    swampie said,

    Well, as long as they aren’t updating their Facebook page while they’re driving….yikes! Sometimes I feel like I’m driving down the street dodging Kamikaze cars.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

