SONOFABITCH! (AGAIN)

This has not been a good year decade for me financially, though I have been blessed in other ways. I have a wonderful husband. The kids and grandkids are all fine and in good health. I still have one surviving rosebush that the sheep haven’t broken out and eaten (yet). So maybe I shouldn’t complain too much.

HOWEVER, this morning rambouillet ewe had her first lambs, a set of male twins. Lovely lambs. Little sale lambs that will help me afford things like feed and hay and property taxes. She was taking good care of them, so I went on my way and left her alone for about an hour while I was taking care of other chores.

Then it intruded on my conscious that she was calling, calling, calling her lambs. I let the other sheep out to pasture and went to see what was wrong. I quickly found one lamb that was taking a nap and ignoring mommy, but couldn’t find the other for awhile….until mommy led me to it behind a gate. It had apparently gotten separated from mommy, maybe following another lamb or ewe, and had gotten behind a gate and had tried to go through the fence and gotten tangled very badly in the fence wire and hung itself. AAAAAARGH! I checked his mouth, and it was still hot. I checked the heart and it was stopped. I tried chest compressions and respirations, but he was gone.

There are some times you just gotta throw up your hands and say screw it. I’m losing money AGAIN this year.

Leave a Reply

