How Could I Forget the Importance of Good Footwear?

My foot pain lessoned significantly when I bought my first pair of “toning” shoes, the kind with a thick arch and smaller heel so that the heel with the bone spur isn’t really striking the ground. I don’t always have time to do the exercises and stretches that I need to do to keep my foot pain to a minimum during an acute flare of plantar fasciitis, so I need all the help I can get. The Osteo-BiFlex helps, too, but danged if I can afford it anymore. If I kept doing the exercises and stretches maybe I wouldn’t GET acute flares, but you know how it is. The pain leaves and life is wonderful and there is SO MUCH that needs to be done that was neglected before. It doesn’t help that all the things that I need to do during a flare of foot pain takes me lots longer and cuts even more time out of my day!

When my foot pain returned with a vengeance after long, long hours on my feet, I felt as close to despair as I am constitutionally able. I threw my shoes in the washer to remove the smell of sheep urine and lanolin. They came out of the drier looking, well, pretty ratty. Hmmmmmm. Maybe I just needed new shoes because the old ones were too worn!

So, I took my broke self off to the shoe store and spent my last few dollars on another pair of toning shoes. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh. I’m still feeling sore at the end of a long day, but I’m no longer contemplating how much easier life would be if I could just have my feet amputated.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    I felt the same way about my hands in the winter of 2010. I went – in similar emotional pain – to find out if there was anything I could try to find some relief, other than “keep ‘em warm and moving.” Pills stop working, I ain’t taking narcotics or even the ones just under narcos anymore, and most of ‘em tear up my gut. I already TAKE 3 pills a day, fercryinoutloud. My PA smiled gently and gave me a scrip for Voltaren Gel. It is my miracle. I got a sample tube, and he said if it helped, fill the Rx. So I did, it did, and I am a FAN. IF you need it, I have a tube I can let you have to try. Being retired military, I get 5 tubes at Target for about $9.

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    http://www.voltarengel.com/consumer/about_voltaren.aspx It’s for osteoarthritis, but it helps a friend of mine who has a couple different pains caused by something else.

  3. 3

    swampie said,

    Thanks! I’ve been really sad this evening and that cheers me up!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

