Taking Care of 4-Month-Old Pumpkin Today

I’ve been outside for two hours feeding chickens with the two older brothers. I was outside for a 1-hour job for two hours because they were helping me so very much! Grin. That’s how they learn.

Mommy is worried about me taking care of the two holy terrors and one little angel all day. I can tell because she called TWICE while I was outside. Papa was holding little sleeping angel in his arms and didn’t want to move to get the phone in case it would disturb her. Mommy, if you are reading this, everything is just fine. She drank less than an ounce of milk before falling asleep, but now she’s on her tummy grinning up at me and kicking those teensy little feet, so I reckon it’s time to drop the keyboard and grab the bottle!

Oops! Looks like I accidentally fed the little pumpkin the bottle of lamb milk! Just kidding, Mommy!

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    HAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Thanks, Swampie, I needed that laugh!

  2. 2

    JEN said,

    Ok OK!! I will quit calling!!! Good to know she is fine. Also bad that I have to check your blog to find out!!! HAHA!

    • 3

      swampie said,

      I have to say, Mommy, that you were absolutely right to doubt my ability to cope! It’s almost 1 p.m., I JUST got the dishes into the dishwasher, I haven’t mopped the kitchen floor that I spilled juice on last night and you may come home and find me stuck to the floor like a fly on flypaper, and as far as vacuuming is concerned (hysterical laughter). Your daddy is off building rocking chairs. Two hours of holding little angel and praying for no poopy diaper was his limit.

      Oh, and I’m still in my jammies. I STILL haven’t gotten a shower from when the rams knocked me down in the barn last night.

      I reckon it’ll take me about a week to get used to the whole taking care of kids thang again. As soon as one is stuffed to the eyeballs with food and drink, another one starts complaining that they are DYING from starvation. Pretty soon I’ll just start tossing hotdogs across the kitchen (EAT, boy, EAT!)

      • 4

        kcduffy said,

        Swampie, if I may offer a suggestion for the boys? Fix a plate or dish or whatever of assorted snacks – apple slices, grapes, crackers – and have it handy for whenever they are DYING from starvation. If you can trust them, put it where they can access it without your help & where they are allowed to eat. If you can’t trust them, put it where YOU can access it easily.

        If you are anything like me, by the end of the second week, you’ll have a routine down cold. Because you’ll be a (bigger?) MESS if you don’t have a routine.

        Ah, memories…

      • 5

        swampie said,

        Brilliant! The biggest challenge will be, of course, keeping SWAMPMAN from gobbling it down!

  3. 6

    kcduffy said,

    The nurse who took care of kaylee when she was born is Australian by birth. I’ve known her about 5 or 6 years, I guess. When Kaylee was born, Pamela called her ‘Peanut’ and that is what Grandpa Brown calls her to this day. Duffy calls her the same thing he called her mama – Punky.

    Glad I don’t have mountains of laundry – I have a very small capacity washer AND dryer, I’d never get done!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

