Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there. Fathers really DO matter. My wonderful husband had the kids around him all the time. He taught auto mechanics, welding, wiring skills, plumbing, etc. When the kids wanted something like a skateboard ramp, he said things like “there’s some lumber and power tools. Go build it!”

I did get real upset when I came home one day and found a toddler sitting on the roof, though. I’m STILL finding out things that Daddy let them do when they were little that I wouldn’t.

I will be spending the day with my stepdad. He’s been in very ill health lately. He is in his 80s, has end-stage COPD, and weeks of thick, smoky air mixed with the heat and humidity has taken it’s toll, and I fear it is his last Father’s Day. He has hung on grimly for so long out of fear of what will happen to my mother when he is gone, for his pension will not transfer to her, and she had to retire early in order to care for him.

He need not fear, of course. Mom is welcome here any time, and my brothers would love to have her as well.

Leave a Reply

