Emergency Back Up Dog?

Daughter called today about a Border Collie that needs a foster home while she completes heartworm treatment, then a forever home via adoption. *sigh* I know that she thinks that I need an Emergency Back Up Dog since my beloved companion of so many years, Odie, passed away the weekend before school ended. It will be awhile, I’m afraid, before I can even write about Odie because the wound is still too fresh.

I don’t really have time right now for another dog. I don’t even have space any more. Chickens are in the dog kennels (grin). This new dog will have to be kept quiet and walked on a leash for her potty breaks until she is finished with her heartworm treatment. She will have to be kenneled to make sure that she doesn’t kill chickens and ducks (which she probably will).

Daughter said “I’ll bring her home and you can keep her overnight and see how she works out!” Daughter has lots of enthusiasm and is sure that this dog will be a Good Dog and an asset to our family. Yes, she wants us to adopt her. Oh, dear. Dog is going to be here in about an hour. Where to put her? Uh, no, NOT in the house, thank you.

Hmmmmm. Daughter also thinks that she and I will look good in matching fuschia and hot pink hair. Or is it turquoise and bright red?

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Love border collie’s but they aren’t exactly low-maintenance animals…how ’bout an 8yo golden retriever? Friend of mine is moving back to Puerto Rico & her mum won’t have it.

    I didn’t know Odie had passed…my heart breaks along with you. There is no way to replace that, not now, not ever, far as I know.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Dog and I have gotten a reprieve….storming and pouring down rain at the shelter, so she didn’t take dog out into the weather because of the way lightning and thunder upsets some dogs, and she is supposed to be kept quiet.

    • 3

      kcduffy said,

      We didn’t get wet here at all. Went all around us, it seems, drat the luck. Our first dog, that I remember as a kid, was border collie/ coyote, it was said. Dad brought her home from a farm outside Opheim. Montana, where he was working as a telephone lineman.

      • 4

        swampie said,

        We didn’t get enough rain to make mud puddles, but 2 miles south of us and 5 miles north of us they got street flooding. We got about a 5-minute shower with lots and lots of lightning. We are, however, grateful for the five minutes’ worth.

        Maybe today.

  3. 5

    kae said,

    If he’s not a climber I’m sure that he could keep Floyd company… I’ve developed a soft spot for border collies since I got Floyd!

  4. 9

    no2liberals said,

    May Odie’s waiting time for you at the Rainbow Bridge be filled with the energy of a young pup.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

