Little Pumpkin and Boys Go Back Home Today

I was up with little Pumpkin when she decided that the REALLY early morning was play time to give poor exasperated Mommy a break. I didn’t mind. I carried her, talked to her, played with her, and admired those little baby fingers and toes and the cute little nose and eyes that look like mine.

These last three weeks have flown by. She’s changing daily. I savor every moment with this little one for she’ll probably be my last grandchild and my last time to hold a little snugglebug whose whole body wriggles in delight when she smiles. I know Mommy and Daddy are looking forward to her getting older so that they’ll have a little more time for things like grocery shopping and house cleaning because I remember when Swampman and I were there with our little ones. I want to cry “Don’t wish this time away. You’ll blink, and it will be gone.”

Papa is out at the barn with the boys. I think their project today was shooting into a bucket of sand so the boys could dig for bullets. Soon, oh so soon, they will be grown.

Dylan called his brother a faggot last night. Mommy couldn’t understand where he would have even HEARD that word. Jacob explained a neighborhood boy calls the other kids that. Mommy told Dylan that she called her brother a faggot once, and MeeMaw washed her mouth out with soap. MeeMaw does not like people to call their brothers ugly names. This morning Dylan asked me if I was going to wash his mouth out with hot soap or regular soap. Heh.

It is time for me to go around the house and locate all the toys and clothes and start getting them packed so mommy will just have to carry them out to the car tonight. It is time for Mommy to come home but somehow I can’t make myself do it.

Update: I was so sad watching them all drive out the driveway. Then I came inside, grabbed a sweet tea, and collapsed on my Lazy Chair next to SwampMan!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    I know exactly how you feel. I have to remind even myself to not wish this time away. I am SO thankful I got the snugglebug time that I did with my daughter and now with the Pixie. My life is richer as a result. The little guy I kept in Hawai’i is 10 now, and I feel the same way about him. The Pixie may not be my last snuggler, but it’s likely she’ll be MY last snuggler, and that is a sad thing to contemplate, even for someone like me.

    *sigh*

    I haven’t picked up the toys or clothes yet. Been putting a post together and spending some time on the stepper that’s conveniently next to my desk…

    **HEAVY SIGH**

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Dang. I wish I had a stepper next to my desk! What I’d really like is one of those treadmill desks. I think SwampMan should get right on it.

  3. 5

    JenDaisy said,

    heh, if you want- I can bring em back for you next week! :::evil Laugh:::

  4. 6

    swampie said,

    I wouldn’t mind, but yo’ Daddy said that we’re working on my ride all next week. Y’know, I’m going to have to have SOME way of getting back and forth to work in whatever form that work may be! Then I’m gonna paint it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

