Heh. I Might Need to Get an Apple Device…

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    I have an iphone and it is indispensable as a multi-tool and it doesn’t drop calls.
    I can see the ipad as having an advantage over a laptop as far as carrying it around, but that’s all. I’ll stick my laptop, iphone and PC.
    And Michael Jackson wasn’t the greatest of all time, James Brown was.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Back when we were in business for ourselves, we had all the latest gadgets. Now that we’re working for other folks, we can’t afford ’em. (sniff)

    I don’t even HAVE a cell phone now since I lost the previous one. If that sucker ain’t the size of a lunchbox, I’m gonna lose it sooner or later. He says we’re getting me a cell phone again this week so he can keep track of me. *sigh*

    I’ve played with an IPad but can’t really see the utility for me. I have a desktop, NOT a laptop. That whole losin’ it issue again.

    SwampMan has a laptop and a desktop. He uses a lot of design programs; I’m not sure the IPad would have the ass to run those.

    • 3

      no2liberals said,

      I drove by a Best Buy on the day the ipad2 was due to be released about five hours before they could go on sale. The parking lot was packed. There is some utility, but it’s mostly the “latest-greatest” factor.
      I’ve never lost a phone, but my life depends on it.
      And James Brown is still the best of all time.

  3. 4

    swampie said,

    *sigh* The smaller they get, the quicker I lose ’em.

    I’m not the only one losin’ stuff, though. I walked into the restroom of a box store today and there, hanging in the stall, was an absolutely giant handbag. Yikes. How could somebody miss carryin’ that sucker around? If I lay down a lil’ cell phone at the counter while I’m payin’ and then walk off without it, that’s one thing, but I’d think a person would notice not totin’ around a 20-lb. handbag.

    I immediately walked out with that bad boy and turned it in to a person at the counter. Yikes. Hope the owner found it. Or remembered where she’d left it.

  4. 5

    swampie said,

    It could be because I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with phones. I need ’em, but don’t want ’em. I really don’t want to be readily available at anybody’s beck and call, but I *might* need to call 9/11 and tell ’em I ran into some asshole that needed it and come pick ‘im up with a spatula and stretcher. Or call somebody cuz I totalled my vehicle. Or to notify the person that I’m on the way to see that there’s a jumper on the freakin’ bridge again and it is closed down to traffic. If they’d just let me up there, I’d throw him off and then they could open it back up. Sheesh.

    • 6

      no2liberals said,

      The iphone isn’t that small, which is why in stays secure in its holster on my belt and use my bluetooth. Usually I check the screen when I get a call. If it is a number I don’t know or it says “blocked” I don’t answer it. I’m only at the beck and call to my clients, family and friends. I don’t have a land line, ditched that needless expense six years ago.
      On my iphone I can surf the net quickly, check traffic quickly, phone, text and can check my email accounts, instead of having to wait until I get home or can get out the laptop. I can also take photos and videos, which comes in handy, like when I got a ticket for double parking to pick some one up, but my photo evidence showed he singled me out of five others doing the exact same thing. and got it tossed.
      I neither love them or hate them, they are just useful.

      • 7

        no2liberals said,

        BTW, I don’t do that twitter or facebook crap and never will.

      • 8

        swampie said,

        Heh. I follow some twitters (of family members off doing important stuff) but I don’t tweet myself. I don’t facebook, but look on my daughter’s site to catch up on what my brothers and cousins and aunts are doing.

        I would prefer to remain a mystery to my coworkers, possible employers, and/or future customers.

      • 9

        swampie said,

        The only family members that know I blog are the daughter and SwampMan. None of my friends or coworkers know.

    • 10

      swampie said,

      And only SwampMan, SwampDaughter, and online readers know that I have a terrible weakness for Bollywood!

  5. 12

    swampie said,

    You forgot to add “and annoying”.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

