I *Might* Be Having Company Tomorrow….

I walked into the house this afternoon to find the red light blinking on the answering machine. I pushed the message button, and the machine said “GrammawIneedtotalktoyouitsimportantcallmebackiloveyoubye!” At least, that’s what I think she said. Hunh. Better call and find out what the emergency is! Sounds like it could be a serious problem that only a grammaw can fix.

I called her back, and she told me she had a big problem. “Daddy is supposed to get me this weekend.” I made the kind of nonjudgmental “Unh hunh” noise that I’ve heard psychiatrists and priests use in the movies. “Well, I have a birthday party to go to Saturday, so I thought it would be nice if I could go to Daddy’s house this week instead, and he said that he would have to talk to you tonight to see if you could keep me in the daytime. I told him that you would like to keep me in the daytime because you would, wouldn’t you, Grammaw?” I assured her that I would be absolutely delighted.

Daddy did not call me tonight. I have a feeling that Daddy would prefer to have her the entire weekend instead of a couple of evenings. I hope Daddy didn’t tell her that I refused, especially when she went to all that trouble to make sure that I wouldn’t (grin).

Or maybe Daddy will be dropping her off here before 6 a.m. Yikes! I can’t call Daddy to find out because his cell phone (wait for it) works everywhere except at his house.

In the meantime, I couldn’t resist a new picture of the littlest granddaughter with her daddy and her aunt.

Leave a Reply

