I Don’t WANNA Go to Work Tomorrow!

So I reckon it’s a good thing I have a doctor’s appointment, hunh?

I was doing my normal whiny Sunday night thing to myself about how I don’t wanna go to work, and I wanted to do something that I want to do in the years remaining, etc. I had to reach out (in a manner of speaking) and slap myself a few times to bring myself back to reality.

“Okay, Ms. I don’t want to go to work anymore, how, exactly, do I intend to pay the ‘lectric bill?”

“Hello. I don’t earn enough to pay the electric bill. I buy feed and groceries!”

“Oh. Yeah. Right. How do I intend to do THAT?”

“I was kinda thinking of committing mass murder of the livestock, filling the freezers, and gardening.”

“And if I get sick, then what?”

“I, uh, reckon I’ll die.”

“Because I will have no insurance?”

“Yep. But I don’t feel sick!”

“Most people don’t, until they keel over from a heart attack or stroke.”

“Oh, aren’t WE Miz Morbid today!”

“I see life as it is, not through delusional glasses.”

“And I could maybe make and sell T-shirts.”

“Funny. I don’t look Chinese to me!”

“I’m serious. People liked the shirt I wore this weekend!”

“That would be TWO people that commented on it. Maybe they couldn’t believe somebody actually wore that thing but didn’t want to be too negative.”

Dang. I hate it when I’m right.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Texasjune said,

    It’s so annoying when our little voices tell us what we don’t want to hear! They’re usually so practical, you just have to tune them out. Put on some favorite loud music and busy your hands in a sink of hot soapy water and dishes. Part of my therapy is a shiny clean kitchen until my back hurts!

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Dang, I wish that was part of my therapy! My therapy is to pretend the dirty dishes aren’t there.

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    I’m having a mammogram in the morning. Much as I don’t like them (I’ve avoided this now for at least 6 years), I’d have one a week if it meant I didn’t have to do the other end of the female exam. That will be done in…January, I think he said. Six years since the last one. And if it’s clear, no more till I’m 60. Same with the mammo! Almost makes it worth looking forward to…almost.

    Therapy today was cleaning the carport. Dishes will wait till tomorrow.

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    Oooh, good luck on the mammogram. I’ve had to go back and be resquished pretty frequently this year but now I’ve graduated to every 6 months. I swear that I’ll never have another one, and then I remember my colleague who is 5 years older than I am with stage IV breast cancer mestastasized to her bones.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

