Potential Treadmill Purchase

I used to run 3 miles per day. Then I had knee issues after an auto accident, and stopped anything exercise related that required actual knees for awhile except for work. Did I mention that at the time I was running a concrete construction company?

Eventually I was able to work up to walking 4 to 6 miles per day but the running part was, alas, gone forever, as was horseback riding. Knees just couldn’t take the abuse. When I was captain of a local fitness walking team (sounds funny, doesn’t it?) I developed plantar fasciitis and heel spurs. I dunno why. Perhaps walking long distances on hard surfaces with my extremely high arches and not the best in supportive shoes was not the best idea in the world.

I’ve lived with the plantar fasciitis/heel spur problem now for five looong years. It aaaaaaalmost goes away, just enough to taunt me, then I get an acute flare and hobble about. If I remembered to do my stretching when it was ebbing, I’d probably be in much better shape (grin). In the meantime, my fitness level has gone way, WAY down. I’m winded running after my charges at school or chasing down the grandkids.

Daughter called asking me if I’d like to buy a treadmill for a *very* good price. Walking on the hard roads and school track have not been good for my feet, but neither has the weight gain I’ve experienced since I stopped. I’m *hoping* that the rubber walking surface will be a whole lot easier on the ol’ musculoskeletal system.

Dang, that was a longwinded way of asking “Hey! Anybody out there with a treadmill that has plantar fasciitis/heel spurs? Do you use it, or is it too hard on your feet?”

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Texasjune said,

    I’ll be watching for replies. My daughter uses a treadmill to prevent foot problems, and my son uses an elliptical when he can’t get outside to run. They both work long hours with their computers.

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    I’ll be waiting for the replies also. Duffy got a stair-stepper at a garage sale last winter, and at the beginning of summer I moved it to the office. I don’t use it as often as I ought to, but I use it a LOT more than if it was out in the workroom. 20 minutes a day is better than NOT 20 minutes a day, right?

    Knees are bothering me today…because I’m scrubbing the floors on my hands & knees! GORGEOUS day, & soon as I’m done here I’m going out to clean the carport!

  3. 3

    swampie said,

    D’OH! I’m gonna have to find out the hard way. (Howcome it’s always me that has to find out the hard way?)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

