Ready to Put Out the Last Round Bale o’ Hay

I’m ready to put out the last round bale of hay. It will last between two and three weeks, then we’re going to have to do something else. I have planted Daikon radish and winter rye, but the dry weather and up and down temps isn’t helping it out any! The sheep will do okay, I think, on oats (high in roughage) and alfalfa pellets, and what little ryegrass has sprouted out there.

The horse will be a little more difficult, but I’m going to start transitioning her over to a high-fiber feed over the next week, then buy several small bales of hay so that she’ll have a couple flakes a day until the pastures come back. What I DO have a lot of is stinging nettle, and I’ll be cutting and drying that for feed supplementation. I had intended to dry a bunch of stinging nettle anyway as a feed additive for the hens as it is supposed to stimulate egg production. I wonder if the sheep and horse will eat nettle hay? They certainly steer well clear of it in the pasture!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Swampie said,

    Neighbor with the beefalo is going to help me search for hay. I didn’t want to hurt his feelings by telling him that my horse and sheep couldn’t eat the kind of hay his critters were eating!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

