Lamb #12 Arrived at Oh Dark Thirty

I had to wait until dawn to find lamb #12 this morning. Again, sheep that are the color of dried grass aren’t easy to find in the dark (and not that easy at dawn, either, by the way)! I couldn’t spot ’em until baby let out a little high pitched “baaaaaaa” of hunger, then the momma jumped to her feet and called back from behind a pile of brush.

Then I raced to work at 80 m.p.h. in a 55 m.p.h. zone, and arrived only a few minutes late. Why’d I risk a very expensive speeding ticket to race to a low-paying job where people complain (behind my back, of course) that I’m (a) being too hard on a kid or (b) not being hard enough on a kid and coddling him or her, I dunno.

*sigh* I had meant to be gone by December at the very latest. How’d I somehow end up by stayin’ until the end of the school year? Oh, yeah. Bad mammograms. Never mind. I’m better now.

Maybe I’m just kinda tired out because I don’t get a whole lotta time for crap like “taking showers” and “sleeping” during lambing and chick and duck hatching season. Maybe I’m just a little grumpy. Maybe I’m just freakin’ tired of watching the infrastructure crumble around us and there ain’t a damn thing I can do about it.

Or maybe I just need some sleep.

Leave a Reply

