Maybe My Destiny is Knocking. Should I Answer the Damn Door?

I’ve often thought that I’d love to do some full-time gardening and chicken growing and egg selling, etc. HOWEVER, the pay is (very) low, the hours are very long, and who knows if I’d even make a profit? It’s waaaay more probable that I’d end up even broker than I am now which is pretty dang broke.

How broke is that, you ask? Well, SwampMan went and bought some cage-making wire, books about raising rabbits, and finally some rabbits. I had been asking SwampMan all week long how much money he had in the bank because the feed price increase and grocery increase and gas increase has done eat up my paycheck. (My bring home paycheck for two weeks with insurance and retirement and vacation days in the summer deducted is about the same as other peoples’ one week bring home pay. As a matter of fact, it’s about what my son earns in one and half days, and he didn’t even have to finish college for his paycheck.)

“Don’t worry about it!” SwampMan said in reply to my queries. “Just spend what you need.” Well, okay then. He must have hundreds stashed away, right? WHY in the name of All That Is Holy can’t he just tell me an amount? Now I have no gas, no feed, and no milk, and found out that he has all of $178. Only he doesn’t really HAVE $178 because I paid the farrier $40 from his checkbook instead of cancelling per his instructions. I bought some groceries ($80 some dollars worth) from Winn Dixie with his checkbook because mine was empty per his instructions. It costs us both $80 to fill up with gas, and I am out of feed which is @ $100. We will be eating fried eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, poached eggs, egg salad without the salad, deviled eggs….well, you get the picture. We will also be having chicken and rice, broiled chicken, oven-fried chicken, etc. And lots of greens. Puppy is getting tired of eating eggs, so he’ll have to alternate with beef hearts. SwampMan got a case of beef hearts last week for Puppy, so he’ll have no worries.

*sigh* No, SwampMan ain’t no financial genius, that’s for sure. He thinks there’s something vaguely sinful about money, so he tries to get rid of it as soon as possible. He’s been very successful in that department.

Anyway, I’ve been worried about our finances and what our next step should be. It would honestly be very difficult for me to take on a second job or even another primary job because of my parents’ health and the ongoing need for me to take care of my stepdad when mom needs to make her doctor’s appointments. I’m also planning to take a month off when SwampDaughter’s fourth is born because she’s going to need help. A LOT of help, since Zoe will only be 18 months old.

So, former daughter-in-law called about opening a daycare. Some folks that I gave a dozen eggs to stopped by to tell me that they would buy all I had to sell, or I could sell them at their booth at the flea market. Hunh. Maybe between selling eggs, rabbits, lambs, veggies, flowers, doing spinning demonstrations, doing some odd jobs, heck, I might make it all the way up to the poverty line.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kae said,

    Inspirational aspirations.
    I’d love to tell my boss where to put her job.
    But I have a mortgage. And I’ve got used to earning quite a bit of money above the poverty line – although the government gives me a refund ‘cos I am a, er, low income earner!

  2. 2

    Swampie said,

    Heh. Well, the costs of staying in place also have to be considered. For one, the compensation does not keep up with inflation, so I’m losing purchasing power on a daily basis now, it seems. For another, there’s a commute. Gas prices are taking an increasingly large portion of my income. While I’m working in town, I’m not growing portions of my feed or improving/rotating my pastures efficiently which leads to higher costs. I’m not gardening. We have to depend on transportation systems which truck in our vegetables and food.

    We’re also letting other income opportunities go by. We’ve had several people asking us to make various furniture items that we’re unable to comply with because there just isn’t any time. I’ve had inquiries about wool purchases/yarn purchases but have been unable to sell because of lack of time for preparing the wool. There are people at a business in Jax that want to buy eggs, but I haven’t been able to make the time to get them there.

    Well. I have 62 working days left in which to make my decision.

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    I’m paying $2 a dozen for farm eggs now from the wife of a hiking friend of Duffy’s – such a difference. Would HAPPILY buy yours!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

