Buried Stepdad Today

It was a hot, sunny day today for stepdad’s funeral. The sailors looked so uncomfortable in their dress whites. (Bob was a WWII Navy veteran. He looks waaaaay underage in his Navy photo as, in fact, he was!)

Zoe was quiet and well behaved throughout the ceremony. Her brothers were not present because, being boys, they have a problem with being quiet and well behaved for long periods of time. My poor son was in a long-sleeved black shirt and black pants and dark sunglasses. If the ironworker’s union has hitmen (and they probably do), they would look like my son today. WHY did he have on a long-sleeved black shirt on a day with the temperature over 90? I suspect he didn’t want his grandmother to see the tattoos on his arms. If that is the case, it is going to be a LONG summer for him, since Grandma is no longer confined to the house.

Maybe it could be because we’re more formal people. I, for example, would normally never dream of going to a funeral service without being attired in a dark dress, hosiery, and heels, weather be damned. God himself would strike me dead if I tried to sneak in wearing casual wear or (shudder) shorts. I just know it. I got frighteningly near casual funeral wear today when I discarded the long-sleeved black jacket that went with the dress in favor of a lighter color casual top. I could have almost been mistaken for a tourist except for wearing no makeup whatsoever. (It was just too danged hot, and I didn’t want makeup running down my face in long colorful streaks.)

Oh, Lordy, I am so dog tired. I can’t imagine how my poor mother must feel. She has never been alone before. She went from her mother’s house to marriage to her mother’s house to marriage to my house to marriage and now Bob is dead. My husband hopefully asked if she wanted to move in with us on account of she doesn’t nag him about his diet and fries chicken just the way he likes it (grin), but she said that she is going to try to live by herself.

We offered to send Dylan up for an extended visit to keep her company, but she unaccountably declined. I wonder why? Could it have anything to do with him getting the resurrection story and zombies kinda mixed up at Easter? Yeah, Jesus is coming….for your BRAIN!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    God Bless your Mom and Godspeed to Bob.

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    *sigh* Hugs all ’round.

    My mum lived by herself for the first time in her life after Dad died in ’91. Now, he traveled some, often worked out of town, so was home weekends only a lot, but still – she never had a place ALL her own till she was in her late 50’s. She likes it. She attempted to live with my sister & her family for awhile, but even when they built her a Little House out back, it was too much for her. She loves her alone time, with no one else to answer to.

    God bless you and yours, Swampie.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

