It is WET Outside!

It has been raining steadily all night thanks to Tropical Storm Debby. The last time I watched the news, we were getting rain at the rate of one to two inches per hour. The water in my front yard is about one to eight inches deep; the water in the side yard is one to four inches deep. The water in the sheep pasture is only about one inch deep.

I just shut the gate that I’d left open all night in the sheep pasture *just in case* the water started rising in the swamp and they needed to make a quick exit out of their barn down the alley to another, higher pasture while I was asleep.

I dunno why I left the gate open. Sheep are not known for their ability to make good decisions under pressure. I could walk out there and their barn interior could be totally inundated with just their heads sticking outta the water, and they would vigorously oppose my removing them from their barn, which is their safe place, to higher ground.

The chickens are wet (blowing rain) but I’ve placed *most* of the chicken pens where the land should be the driest. There are a couple pens where the water is pretty deep but they are all adult chickens that are on roosts. I’ll move them when it gets daylight.

The folks on the lower-lying properties will have been flooded out overnight. I hope everybody evacuated in time.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    I am ever so thankful Duffy decided on the new metal roof in 2005 – just AFTER The Summer of the Hurricanes, when the old roof leaked so bad. We live on ‘higher ground,’ too, and I’m happy for that. I think there’s more precip on the way, but not absolutely sure. Think I’ll stay in today…

    • 2

      swampie said,

      Yeah, since you’re on the westside, you gonna get another 17 INCHES of rain.

      It’s pouring here!

      • 3

        kcduffy said,

        Made it through the night – no water running in the street today, looks like it may be drying out there. A cool 69 damp, muggy, saturated degrees at 0630! Better go feed the cats…

      • 4

        swampie said,

        And then we’ll get the heat. Eeek.

  2. 5

    swampie said,

    Woohoooo! I was so happy to see that Debby dashed across the state last night while we were sleeping, so NO MORE RAIN.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

