What’s the Plan, Mom?

SwampDaughter called to find out what the plan was for getting the kids Friday and for next week. Plan? I told her that it was a little bit difficult making actual plans on account of we didn’t know if we could even get on the highway Thursday or Friday. We’ll wait until later in the week to make a decision about whether the kids need to be here Thursday evening, or we’ll get them Friday morning. We will go with the flow. I’m a leaf on the wind.

SwampDaughter HATES going with the flow. She doesn’t think I’m a leaf on the wind. She says people like me make people like her CRAZY. She wants an actual plan in writing (and probably signed in blood) in triplicate IN ADVANCE of what we are going to do. Well. I wish somebody would tell that aggravating tropical storm about that. We have plans, damnit, and you better not interfere if you know what’s good for you!

Okay, here’s the plan, then. In the event of even more widespread flooding that leaves the road under water, I’ll walk to SwampSon’s house, borrow his canoe, carry it on my head a mile or so to where the water in the road begins, and canoe back home. She can drive to the edge of the water, put life jackets on the kids, and SwampMan and I will canoe to the water’s edge and collect them.

Another plan could be that we can tie a rope to an innertube and toss that across to her, she can put the kids in, and we’ll pull ’em back across to us. They’d probably like that.

How’s that for a couple of plans?

Or (alternative plan) we could assume that we’ll be able to get to Jacksonville by 7 a.m. on Friday morning to pick them up, and revise if necessary, which has been our plan all along.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kae said,

    Funny how Mom’s the one who has to figure out what she’s going to do!

  2. 3

    swampie said,

    Heh. I like to tease her because she has a tendency to overplan things. A year in advance. A job that I used to have would have driven her absolutely crazy, because I would be given a new assignment on the day I finished my old one that would start the next day (or week) in a different part of the state, and I would be either faxed the contract the day before I left, or pick it up at the site.

    Her dad used to make lots and lots of schedules for jobs that we had to do, and it drove him absolutely crazy if, say, a storm delayed them for two days, or something wasn’t ready at one of the job sites because he had these nice plans and GANNT charts showing that these things were supposed to be accomplished TODAY. I would just shrug because shit happens, and go on to the next item and get back to the first one when I could.

    Of course, my organizational skills are, um, just sad, but I’m not all that upset about it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

