Ice Cream Break!

Mommy got off work early today and picked up the kids @ 2:30. We had attempted to get them to the new ice cream shop in Callahan, Dreamette*, on Thursday evening only to be stopped by (a) a train, and then (b) a police officer when we frantically tried to get there before closing time.

Zoe was pretty exhausted today, and it shows in her picture. She’d been up until 2:30 a.m., then popped up like a happy little Jack-in-the-Box at 7:00 a.m. She was as bright and cheerful as one of those little birds that likes to sing happily in the morning. MeeMaw, on the other hand, was about as bright and cheerful as a big ol’ buzzard who hadn’t had her morning road kill. Then, of course, was the discovery of the stinky chicken livers hidden in the cabinet. Instead of a nap (for both of us), we went outside after lunch and explored a bit because of Mommy coming early today. Zoe got a little aggravated with me because I would not let her grab the black snake that was slithering away for his life. He made it into a safe hiding place inside a hollow fence post. I’d go check it out more closely tomorrow, but I’ve got a mental picture of putting my eye to the fence post, looking down inside, and then having to explain to the nice ER doc about how exactly I managed to have my eyeball bitten by snake and why he was still there, hanging from said eyeball. Come to think of it, perhaps that is the only bright side of Obamacare. I will likely not have to engage in conversations about “how, exactly, did this happen?” with ER docs anymore because there won’t be any.

Jacob took his Tussock Moth caterpillar home with him today. He’s been very carefully changing out leaves and counting droppings (@ 20 per day, in case you were interested). I hope the caterpillar is still alive. He, uh, looked kinda dead when I looked at him last. Or maybe he was just pining for the fjords. The caterpillar cage went into the Dreamette, too. Just in case you wondered.

Dylan and I sat and cuddled up on the couch and read two SpongeBob books together after breakfast. He was a little upset about a couple of books, too. How DARE I have Sleeping Booty and Snow White in my book basket? Those are girl books!

All he wanted to wear today was his Spiderman underpants. He explained to me that he was more comfortable wearing just his underpants. Well, I understand completely, but sometimes, if we want ice cream really bad and there isn’t any in the freezer, we have to put pants on.

There are no pictures of MeeMaw at the Callahan Dreamette. Sadly (for Dylan), it had nothing to do with my deciding that I was really more comfortable, too, in my superhero underwear, so everybody gets to go get ice cream in their underwear. Nope, it was because I couldn’t even remember if I’d brushed my hair today (or the day before for that matter). When I voiced my opposition to a picture for that reason, absolutely NOBODY said “but your hair looks fine!” so maybe I did NOT brush it yesterday either.

I ran into my former sister-in-law that does my hair after the kids went home. I told her that I needed to get in to see her but I’d been keeping the grandkids. She looked at my hair and told me that she’d pencil me in on Monday at 6:30 p.m. Dang, an emergency appointment! Guess it was worse than I thought.

*Yeah, I know the old Dreamette on Edgewood was there for years. Same family.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott said,

    Good luck with the caterpillar. It’ll make a beautiful moth!

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    Well, it certainly makes a hairy-looking cocoon!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

