Late Night With the Kids

Dylan is fast asleep on his pallet on the floor in front of the television. Jacob just finished his root beer float and is brushing his teeth. Zoe is supervising. She is rarely far from her big brother.

Dylan went to bed crying. He tried to hug and kiss his brother, who shoved him away because boys should not kiss boys. *sigh* I explained to him how my middle brother used to want to hug and kiss me, and I felt like I was waaaaaay too old to have a little brother hanging on me for attention, so I would shove him away, too, and now I feel very bad about it. He would regret it one day as well. Papa and I tried to get Dylan to hug and kiss us, but the damage was done. Tears rolled down his face, and he refused to hug or kiss anybody. Undeterred, we hugged and kissed him anyway.

I look around the kitchen while it is temporarily quiet. Zoe cleaned the canned goods off the shelves while I cooked tonight. I have to pick a can of corn, peas, and stewed tomatoes out from under my computer chair. They’re on Papa’s chair, too. Oh, Lordy. There are even more cans in the dining room, but they’re just going to have to be there until tomorrow morning. MeeMaw’s butt starts doing some serious dragging after midnight.

Yeah, the house is a wreck, but there’s a bubble of joy in my soul that will not be popped that is from the sheer happiness of having them here. They are so dear to me.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    It’s not a little bubble, either – it’s a big one, and growing all the time, I think. I believe it’s called ‘gratitude.’


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

