Weight Loss Pills

I’ve packed on 50 lbs. between my gluten sensitivity issues, the symptoms of which that the docs kept telling me were due to middle age, as well as the plantar fasciitis that had me all but crippled for the past several years.

It is very difficult to avoid gluten-containing foods. Even something that SOUNDS like it should be gluten free often isn’t. For example, IHOP has been advertising the pancake batter in their omelettes that make them even lighter and fluffier. Somebody that just wants some gluten-free food is going to get a big intestinal surprise if they order an omelette! Soy sauce, salad dressing, some vanilla flavorings, soups…well, there are a lot of times that I get accidentally glutened. When I get accidentally glutened, it also affects my feet, which become quite painful. If I have to wait until I get this gluten thing completely right, I may NEVER get to take that weight off!

So, when Dr. Oz recommended raspberry ketone as being an excellent fat burner, I decided to try it out. It’s fairly inexpensive as far as supplements go.

I weighed myself yesterday before I started taking the supplement. I weighed myself tonight after taking them for one day. Heh. Well, I’m five pounds heavier this evening. I believe that it is due to the salty food I ingested during lunch today. Hopefully all the tea that I had tonight (because I was soooooo thirsty) will have that extra salt washed out of my system by tomorrow morning. Day one hasn’t seen any benefit.

I’ve got a month’s worth of pills, so I’ll try to remember to update weekly so you can find out whether my fat has turned into heat and energy and disappeared. Or not.

I know that I’ll have some weight loss soon because I usually carry about 10 lbs. of water in the summer heat that I lose when the weather gets cooler for my outside work.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    I hate to hear you are a gluten for punishment. 😯

    • 2

      swampie said,

      The freakin’ green beans at school had gluten in them today! I’m going to have to stick strictly to salads without dressing and carrot sticks if I have any school-type lunch (which costs $4).

  2. 3

    It’s good of you to try those raspberry ketones. But I bet you wouldn’t see the effects overnight. Give it at least a month. I’ll be looking out for your updates.

  3. 4

    nuke said,

    I had not heard of gluten before this year. Where have I been?

    • 5

      swampie said,

      Perhaps I didn’t write much about it. Short version: I started “falling apart” about, hmmmm, ten years ago (my god, has it really been that long?).

      I was working out at the gym every other day and putting in 6 miles per day on the road. Life was pretty good, but I started getting joint injuries in the gym, and my weight was creeping up. My trainer (heh)had me keep a food log, said that I wasn’t eating enough which could stall weight loss, and I needed to include MORE WHOLE GRAINS and less animal fats in my diet. Hunh. So I started my day with bagels or oatmeal for breakfast, and whole grain breads, and low-fat salads. And I gained MORE weight. My joint aches and pains got worse. My wrists and fingers hurt so much I gave up my woodcarving and spinning hobbies.

      I don’t know when the brain fog started. It was like a dull cloud descended over my brain. I knew I wasn’t as sharp as I used to be, but didn’t know why. I had moments of clarity when I worried about it, but then I would forget. I was worried enough to consult my physician about my forgetfulness and how I would forget what I needed as soon as I left the room unless I wrote EVERYTHING down (and I’d always been a listmaker due to my ADHD nature), but she just said it was middle age and hormonal changes. Now, though, I was forgetting the list ENTIRELY. My plantar fasciitis was terribly painful. It was all I could do to get through eight hours of work and two or three hours’ worth of feeding chores after work. Our evening meals consisted almost entirely of fast food. And I felt worse. And I gained more weight. And my stomach and intestines felt like they were on fire ALL THE TIME. I had a colonoscopy which was fine. I was on an antidepressant so I could sleep and pain pills so I could walk. I developed a horrible itching, burning, blistering skin condition that I thought might be some kind of contact dermatitis.

      Of course, by the time I got in to see the dermatologist, the skin condition had cleared up except for the redness left behind. We discussed clothing (I only wear all natural fibers because I DO have sensitive skin) and detergents (I use unscented). Then out of nowhere, I asked “could it be something that I’m eating?”

      So, I felt a lot better on the food elimination diet. Then I added in the wheat. And I knew.

  4. 6

    ligneus said,

    That all sounds awful, the only good thing is to know the cause and know that it’s not something terribly wrong with you. Can’t your doc or some expert on gluten devise a strict gluten free diet? Seems if you could do that, you’d be cured. But what do I know.

    • 7

      swampie said,

      Oh, yeah, I’m following a GF diet right now and am usually okay. However, there is gluten in all sorts of things I wouldn’t expect it to be in like those freakin’ IHOP omelettes. Grrrrrrr.

      The weight is s-l-o-w-l-y coming off and I suppose I shouldn’t be so impatient, but I want it all gone now.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

