Got to Get Ready For the Highway to Hell

Or, as other people call it that also have jobs where they have to endure verbal abuse daily, going to work. On the other hand, if a doctor told me that I only have weeks to live, my reaction would be “Thank GOD! I won’t have to spend the entire year in middle school!”

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Lovely Daughter was laid off Friday – and though the pay was great, the verbal abuse and level of childishness on the part of her bosses was WAY over the top. From the owner who called her names to her immediate supervisor who tried to break up the family, it was an UGLY situation…I may be the only one, but I’m glad it’s over.

  2. 2

    swampie said,

    If she has skills that she can use in the underground economy, this is a great time to exercise ’em!

  3. 3

    kcduffy said,

    She’s got a couple lines on things…seems to believe there are still un-degreed jobs out there with full bennies…and I don’t know enough to say she’s wrong, but I think she’s wrong. Just ain’t the way companies are going.

    She’s got some skills, though, after 7 years as an office wonk – and says she can always sling beers like she did when she was 17!

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    There are non-degreed (part time) jobs with insurance benefits. The National Guard, UPS, and I think maybe Federal Express are some that spring to mind.

  5. 5

    swampie said,

    If she’d like to do something in the trades, I’m hearing that HVAC has some steady work and good wages. There’s a community college in Lake City, I believe, that teaches courses in golf cart repair and I believe that ALL the graduates are placed. (Swampman was telling me that he wished he’d known about it when he was younger. I’ll get more info if she’s interested.) Golf course groundskeeping can pay pretty well, too, but I think that might be an associate degree program.

    • 6

      kcduffy said,

      She’s working toward her degree now…President’s List & all…I’ll send her a link so she can read this, thanks, Swampie!

      (My firm belief is in the vo-tech trades if you want to have paying work, & she’s considering that very thing, but in paralegal, not greasy fingers…and my girl has an innocent heart murmur, so no military for her)

  6. 7

    swampie said,

    Other stuff with Degree Not Required that provides insurance….working for the school system as a para (aide), custodian, kitchen help, or bus aide.

    • 8

      swampie said,

      A lot of the legal stuff is being outsourced to India. Don’t know about paralegal stuff…I’ve heard that a lot of the attorneys that can’t find work are doing paralegal stuff.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

