An Unfortunate Trick of the Light?

I’d been visiting with relatives this afternoon into the evening, so I didn’t get home until late. I filled up the feed buckets at 11 p.m. and went around to make sure everybody had adequate feed and water.

It was almost midnight when I splashed through the back gate to feed the chickens in the back pasture. At the edge of the little duck pond, at the far range of my flashlight, Breeze stood drinking. “BREEZE! What in the world are you doing in here?” I asked in astonishment, for this wasn’t her pasture, and I would have a helluva time rounding her up this late. She lifted her head, dripping water, and looked at me, then I blinked in astonishment. She wasn’t there. Then I remembered that she was dead and would never be there. “What the…?”

I shone my flashlight around the little pool, trying to see what had tricked my eyes into seeing Breeze. There were some weeds at the far end, but they were not horse sized. They were also not chestnut. Was it the ducks splashing? Well, the ducks are black and white, and were on the other side of the pond. Maybe a deer? No, Puppy would have immediately given chase to a deer in the pasture. It wasn’t Puppy, either. He had been in the pasture checking the perimeter before I came in, then exited carrying the dessicated carcass of a long deceased animal as I entered and was now behind me.

So, I still don’t know.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    no2liberals said,

    I know.
    It was Breezes ghost.
    A ghost is what one expects/wishes to see.
    I’ve experienced that too, followed immediately by major suckage.

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    My old cat ‘haunts’ this house and the camper…I don’t believe in ghosts, but this is where she should be and isn’t…my memory sees what isn’t there…

  3. 7

    Sandi said,

    A similar thing happened to me when my cat, Smokey, disappeared. A couple of days later, I got out of bed, walked into the livingroom and there, sitting under the coffee table was Smokey. I said her name with a feeling of relief (not even wondering how she’d got back into the locked-up house),and took a step towards her. She disappeared, right before my eyes. Later that afternoon, she was found dead by the side of a nearby road (I have no idea when she’d actually died). Perhaps she was just letting me know that she was OK – or saying goodbye. I don’t know what to make of it but it did happen. If anyone had told me such a story before then I’d have thought that they probably dreampt it (although I’d had a similarly strange experience some years before). I certainly wasn’t dreaming, and neither were you. You saw what you saw.

  4. 8

    bonz said,

    We have a pair of foxes running around the neighborhood. They just clipped a 1200 pound wild hog on the golf course near by. We’re being overrun by nature


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

