One More Week

*sigh* I was accused of being a racist today. I did not previously know that a sign of being a racist is to insist that, in a reading class, people actually read. How culturally insensitive of me.

I asked SwampMan this evening whether he thought I would suffer from paroxysms of guilt over the children when I left.

“Yeah, you will!” he said. “For about 20 minutes on the way home next Friday. Then you’ll say ‘Naaaah, they’ll live!’ and be fine.”

Update: Ooops. Perhaps people that are guzzling three different cold and allergy medicines should NOT be blogging when they can barely keep their eyes open at night. Sorry for the quotation marks that were out of place.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jenny said,

    Yay!! Finally!!! You are lucky your last day is one week before mine! Now if we can make it through without an assault charge…

    • 2

      swampie said,

      Heh. Yeah, there’s always that. What the heck, jail was always my backup nursing home.

      I know it sounds crazy, but I am SO looking forward to cleaning and painting. What will probably happen is that I’ll get to my woodcarving tools and want to sharpen them. Then I might make it all the way to the spinning wheels and looms, then I’ll want to do something to THEM. Meanwhile, the windows will NOT be washing themselves.

    • 4

      swampie said,

      Yeah, I can’t figure out if I’ll be hootin’ and hollerin’ or sobbing.

      • 5

        kcduffy said,

        If you are anything like most people I know, it’ll be a combination of both.

        What I’d like to do, once you’ve gained your freedom, is have lunch together. Think that’d be possible? I’ll buy!

      • 6

        swampie said,

        It will be possible; in fact, that was at the top of my list of Things To Do Once I Became Liberated! (Well, meet you for lunch, that is, not make you buy my lunch!)

        I’m not sure when that lunch can take place, though. Lambing has begun (lamb #4, a big girl, was “stuck” when I arrived home tonight, and I had to help her out to the relief of momma ewe, who was lying on her side in exhaustion. This weekend, lil’ bro discovered carpenter ants in the roof. We’ve made *some* repairs, but more will be needed. And the in laws are coming, too.

        It may be about three weeks before I get caught up enough around here to venture out of town!

      • 7

        kcduffy said,

        I will happily wait!

  2. 8

    kcduffy said,

    Tomorrow is Swampie’s last day!!! I am so STOKED!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

