SwampDaughter’s First Day at New Job

SwampDaughter has taken a new job in the private sector where she will learn a few new skills, get to use her old ones, and work overnights on the weekend in order to cut daycare costs and spend more time with the kids.

Congratulations, SwampDaughter! Hope your new situation is even more fun than the last one! (Plus, of course, you get to see your old friends for lunch occasionally during the week.)

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Sometimes it’s hard to ‘just be glad you have a job’ but glad SwampDaughter found a job that allows her the “luxury” of time with her kids! Lotta people not willing to make that ‘sacrifice’ and I admire those that do.

    • 2

      swampie said,

      I can’t really discuss any of the issues, but if you go to a mass adoption event, WATCH OUT! Political correctness (being a no-kill shelter) has trumped public safety. And that is all I will say about that.

      • 3

        kcduffy said,

        Not in the market for another family member, and avoid those events as if they are run by…well, by the people who run ’em! I have a no-kill shelter in my back yard, it seems. Got my regular MamaCat (we payed to have her spayed) and 2 toms who let her order them around. There’s a few in the neighborhood come by to eat the leftovers, too. It works for me.

  2. 4

    swampie said,

    Heh. I’m not worried about da kittehs. I’m worried about somebody’s kid being killed or maimed.

    • 5

      kcduffy said,

      Thought that might be what you were (not) saying. And I agree completely.

      • 6

        swampie said,

        I heard through the grapevine that one of the pitbulls that several people at the shelter said was definitely not safe for adoption but were overruled (because having the dog actually trying to bite you is now not sufficient to block its adoption) was snarling and snapping at people during the mayor’s televised conference at the shelter. Heh. I bet THAT part didn’t get on TV!

    • 7

      no2liberals said,

      Great info source, Dogsbite.
      I highly recommend clicking on their blog.

      • 9

        swampie said,

        MOST of the dogs that the shelter is placing for adoption are what appear to be pit bulls/pit bull crosses. Whatever they are, families with small children are adopting dogs that have been aggressive torward people that work there.

        I don’t know why they can’t see that this is going to end up costing the city millions because somebody is going to get mauled/killed by a dog certified as safe by people that go in and spend a few minutes with the dog.

        Now, with that said, I have owned lots of pit bulls and other “aggressive” dog breeds in the past without problems but, then again, I am THE alpha head bitch in charge and know how to run my pack, by Gawd, and I don’t brook any insolence. There are a lot of folk out there that usually end up on shows like “The Dog Whisperer” that just don’t know how to be the leader of the household. Their dogs or their kids run the place.

        Just because a dog has a broad head doesn’t mean it’s a pit bull terrier. Could be a mix of dogs without a bit of pit in its lineage. Whenever there’s a dog-mauling case, it would be interesting and instructive to do a genetic test to determine exactly what sort of dog did the damage. I wouldn’t be at all surprised to find that a lot of the bites that were being blamed on “pit bulls” have no genetic link whatsoever to the breed being named.

      • 10

        no2liberals said,

        From one alpha to another, I think the Dog Whispering guy is an ass clown.
        I have had some great dogs over the years, many that people fear, like Dobermans and Shepherds that I adopted from a shelter. The leader of the pack was established PDQ and never had any problems. When it comes to pits, I view them as a genetic mistake.
        Regardless of whether a dog resembles a pit, DNA testing isn’t necessary. No other dog is a grasping dog, which defines them and makes them so destructive. I don’t care about all the bull shit aggression tests, it isn’t about biting it is about the damage they do and being responsible for most bite fatalities.

  3. 11

    Jenny said,

    I have 2 weeks of training before the sweet schedule kicks in. But its interesting so far, super busy first day. I forgot how difficult private practice is.

    • 12

      swampie said,

      Wait, so you won’t be working this weekend?

      /I’m all confused now.

      • 13

        Jenny said,

        No I work Next monday through Thursday during the day, then that Friday night (March 1st)- monday morning. This week I work during the day.

      • 14

        swampie said,

        Okay, I’ll be ready! I want yo’ daddy to build some chalkboard and dry erase desks.

        I think Zoe is ready to draw on things other than the wall!

    • 15

      swampie said,

      Yeah, it IS difficult being the newby when you don’t know where anything is, you don’t know their procedures, and everybody is bouncing around like ping pong balls trying to get stuff done without any time to explain.

      Well, keep in mind what you think is essential to know so that you can initiate a training program eventually.

      Dang, I’m going to be the newby again once I get everything back into shape around here. I HATE being the newby. I HATE not being in control of things.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

