Life is Just That Way, I Guess

We are halfway through “spring break”. SwampMan has had SUCH a bad cold/bronchitis (probably pneumonia, truth be told) that he has a hard time breathing. Naturally, it turned off cold again. If it was warm, he’d probably be recovered.

We spent Monday rebuilding his CNC machine frame. It is something that he has wanted to do before we really got started in production work. We started with fairly lofty ambitions…everything must be square, and level, and stable.

He was on the cold concrete floor underneath the machine squirming about on his back. I was the gofer cutting materials and mitering and screwing in additional bracing on the outside of the frame. I was also dropping things and cursing and noticing that when I was in a cramped position for a prolonged period of time, it was a little hard for me to immediately obey commands. For example, I’d be toting things and cutting things and then down on the concrete floor on my knees with a heavy-ass drill attaching things, and SwampMan would say “Okay. Down at the other end now.” Meanwhile, I’d be on my knees in this 1-foot space between a solid concrete wall and a table with delicate electronic pieces that I could not touch, wondering how in the hell was I going to get up? SwampMan would repeat as though I had not heard: “Okay, the OTHER end. I need you down at THIS end.” Struggle struggle. No room to get my feet back under me. How did I manage to get down here? Oh, yeah. It was hard. “You’re at the WRONG END! I need you down here with ME!”

“Well, if you had something I could maybe pull myself up on, I’d be DOWN at THAT damn end!”

“Oh. Getting OLD, aren’t we?”

“Shaddup. This is NOT FUNNY!”

“Yes. Yes, it is!”

“Okay, maybe it is!” and somehow I’d wiggle out to a spot where I had enough room to get my feet underneath me, and down to the other end I’d go. “Seriously, you need to attach some ropes or something to the ceiling so I can pull myself up if I have to do this shit again!”

Let us just say that our lofty ambitions of square, level, and stable had flown completely out the window by the end of the day. We were into serious settling territory by then. We settled for mostly square, kinda level, and completely sturdy.

We limped outta the barn giggling at each other and settled into our easy chairs and debated whether we were truly getting old (NEVER! Okay, maybe a little!) or whether we were just too dang outta shape.

I called Mom, since I hadn’t talked to her since we’d first became ill, as though germs can be spread over the phone. She shared all the news and, as we were about to hang up, dropped another bombshell.

“Oh, another spot popped up and they think my cancer is back. I have to get another biopsy.”

17 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kae said,

    “We limped outta the barn giggling at each other and settled into our easy chairs and debated whether we were truly getting old (NEVER! Okay, maybe a little!) or whether we were just too dang outta shape.”

    Cute. I wonder if I’m getting old or outta shape… shape and old I think. Can get down, but just can’t get up again. Low cupboards are a challenge.

    I hope your Mum is OK!

  2. 2

    kcduffy said,

    On Mom: Oh, brother…will put her top of my prayer list, just under YOU!

    On aging: Yep, that’s what it is. Add old ‘war wounds’ and arthritis, with a mind too forgetful to remember yoga & physical therapy every morning, and you have MY WEEK!

  3. 3

    nuke said,

    Hope that cancer cure hurries up and gets here.
    Hang in there, swampess.

  4. 4

    swampie said,

    Thanks, y’all, for your good wishes. If you need me, I’ll be under my desk clutching a blanket.

  5. 5

    Robert D said,

    Mrs. D had a lump removed from her left breast Wed. We’re heading to the Dr. in a couple hrs. to get the results. (fingers crossed) :-/

  6. 8

    swampie said,

    Aw, crap. Is she going to be on Tamoxifen?

    • 9

      Robert D said,

      Just not sure until the results of the lymph-biopsy results come on Friday. (sentinel node procedure) 6 weeks of radiation was mentioned if the worst happens, with about 98% chance of full recovery. We have a full week of doctor appts. next week after the same this week. I call it groundhog week. We’re very optimistic though.

      • 10

        Robert D said,

        We had an appointment for the biopsy results tomorrow. The doctor called and said there is no reason to come in tomorrow, nothing more can be done.

        It’s Negative!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • 11

        swampie said,

        Woohoooo! Good news! Good news! I’m doing the happy dance for y’all. Just be glad you can’t see it.

  7. 12

    swampie said,

    Heh. Bring books or cards or a computer to pass the time! At least one of her doctors will be late from surgery or will have been called to help out on surgery and everything will be running one or two hours behind schedule. That is, if your experience is anything like ours!

  8. 14

    kcduffy said,

    I had a day yesterday – in fact this whole month – where I felt useless and helpless and just too poor to help those I wished to help.

    Then I came here and read this, and realized – once again – that I have Cadillac problems.

    *Waiting is the hardest part…and the difficulty is multiplied if I have to be around other people.*

  9. 15

    Robert D said,

    I’m sure my happy dance was worse than yours (white men can’t dance) but I sure put my all into it, and Mrs. D was amused. She’s pretty sore after 2 surgeries in the same area in one week, but that after hours call sure perked her up. And she says thank you for the well wishes. (think i can sleep now for a bit)

    • 16

      Robert D said,

      Oops… 😳 a little bit of premature excitation there. Even though the tests are negative, after 4 weeks of healing there will be 6 weeks of radiation. More doctors to meet with in a couple of weeks.

      • 17

        swampie said,

        Well, the lump was cancerous, so the radiation is probably a good idea. The Tamoxifen, too, if necessary.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

