I Did It Again. On Purpose.

A suddenly-appearing wheat/gluten allergy seems to me to be a sign of somebody that doesn’t have a strong enough will. I have a *very* strong will. I should be able to kick gluten’s ASS. I am so tired of having to always be careful of what I eat so I don’t accidentally poison myself.

So, I made a bunch of no-bake cookies today, the kind that looks like cat shit and has lots of oatmeal in it. I thought I’d kinda sneak up on gluten. And I ate some. Shrug. I didn’t feel any discomfort, so I ate a few more. There are people with full-blown celiac disease that can eat oatmeal, so I should be okay. Besides, it’s all a matter of willpower.

Those people that can tolerate oatmeal *sigh* are not me. I’m now in a chair scrunched up in pain because it feels like I’ve swallowed some caustic substance that is trying to claw its way through my intestines and abdominal wall. Oatmeal is kicking my ass.

Apparently I need to work on my willpower some more. If a politician drops over dead when he or she is in the middle of saying something particularly stupid, well, you know that might be me working on strengthening my willpower. I would happily kill to be able to eat a yeast roll, hot from the oven, slathered in butter.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    Your body’s different than it was. Happens to lots of us, over time. And I don’t like it, either. This is not a matter of willpower. If it was, you’d have whupped it years ago. Physical anomalies do not change due to will. I wish they did, I’d love to have a black russian.

    • 2

      swampie said,

      *sigh* This morning my stomach is better but I’m limping around with joint pain which will go away in a couple days. I’m like a lil’ kid that always has to touch fire to make sure it’s still hot.

      I’m worried about one of my friends who is about my age. She’s recently (about two years ago) started drinking socially but now she doesn’t stop until she passes out. (She’s got a stressful job and stressful marriage.) I don’t think she drinks alone. She doesn’t think she has a problem. Her husband is extremely controlling and belittling and HATES that, so I suspect she’s just asserting her independence in a pretty self-destructive way.

      • 3

        kcduffy said,

        LOTS of people drink to relax, to cover up, to ease stress or pain, etc. I’d have to agree with you on this one…alcohol is still a poison, even to non-alcoholics.

  2. 4

    kae said,

    Hi Guys
    One of my best friends has coeliac disease. She had some tests and they said that it’s possible, but the only sure way was to take a biopsy after she’d spend five weeks eating heaps of bread every day.

    She passed on that.

    She says she’s got more energy and not too many aches and pains since she stopped eating gluten. She only discovered it a few years ago.

    I have a cousin who discovered she was a coeliac a few years ago. I was surprised, but my aunt said that they mostly eat a lot of salads and fruit and veg and not too much pasta or bread-like things.

    You have to be careful if you are a coeliac as if you irritate your innards you can develop cancer – it’s quite common with coeliacs, another person with the disease told me.

    It’s surprising how common it is. Look up some peruvian recipes with quinoa.

    Take care! (Both of you, Swampie and KC!)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

