I Wonder If My Grandmother Felt This Way

Zoe and tablet I wonder if my grandmother ever looked in bemusement at the 2-year-old me calmly working technology that didn’t even EXIST when she was a young adult? Probably not. I don’t think things were moving at quite as fast a pace then.

I was startled awake by the sound of a phone ringing this morning. I raced for it (once I was finally awakened) but didn’t make it in time. It was the shearer from Iowa. The funny part was that I was walking out to let the sheep out to graze yesterday, and thought to myself “I better start getting the barn ready for the shearer. It is about time for him to arrive.” Then my former daughter-in-law came over to visit and take me to lunch, so that thought completely escaped my mind! Shoulda paid attention and got the barn ready.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kcduffy said,

    My little grandma died in 1986 before the rise of the home computer/ cell phone era…but she loved me. My big grandma found me rather tedious and lacking, I’m afraid. She died when I was in my 40’s.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

